28/12/2018 ALMc201710, Gold Coast, Australia
On a recent road trip we booked while on route & opted for a standard room for 3 adults. Our room was upstairs with a mezzanine un air-conditioned bedroom, with a poorly placed west facing skylight al... more
On a recent road trip we booked while on route & opted for a standard room for 3 adults. Our room was upstairs with a mezzanine un air-conditioned bedroom, with a poorly placed west facing skylight allowing blazing sun to smash it until 8:30pm in summer! When a 2nd fan (supplied one was faulty) was delivered for the bedroom we were assured the room would cool with just the air conditioner from area below, definitely not the case! Even with air con & fan both pumping for several hours the bedroom was still uncomfortably hot when we went to bed. Aside from the heat the room was very tired with dated decor & bathroom & plenty of large cracks in the walls & creaking stairs. The table was sticky from previous occupants drinks. The only positive was the fluffy, white bath towels. less
Robert P, General Manager at Best Western Sanctuary Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review of our hotel. Customer satisfaction is of our upmost priority and we are disappointed to read we did not exceed your expectations.
I would like to point out we are officially rated as a 4 star hotel with the AAA accommodation association of Australia.
The standard loft room you stayed in is one of our most popular guest rooms due to the space, size and layout. Generally 1 air conditioner services the room adequately, but considering the 43 degree + days we are currently having in Tamworth currently, I can see how it may have been hotter than usual in your room. Due to the current drought we are having in regional NSW, yes our building is on the move! and there can be some minor cracks in the walls, as soon as we patch them up, they can re appear as quickly as we patch them up as the foundation dries up beneath the building!
Perhaps on your next stay in Tamworth, consider booking one of our Premier Guest rooms which have been recently refurbished or requested a room which is not on 2 levels.