Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel.

Victorian charm and splendour overlooking the sea.

BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel on the promenade at Southsea, Portsmouth, is the perfect venue for both business and pleasure. Outside its doors guests can enjoy magnificent views over the Solent.
Quintessentially the hotel is Victorian England, draped in history and splendour, a hotel where you can relax and also experience all the traditional hospitality associated with a very proud hotel.

Many of our beautifully furnished bedrooms overlook the sea. A grand staircase, a chandelier filled restaurant and sumptuous lounge await our loyal brand of guests.

There is complimentary on site limited car parking. Ample free parking is also available in adjacent streets. Dogs with well behaved owners are welcome by appointment!

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel in Portsmouth. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual Best Western quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the Best Western International Quality Award, a global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world. This award demonstrates how we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

View more


St Helen's Parade


Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: Accepted Dogs by agreement prior to arrival. Bedrooms only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Chef Paul Playford

blank image

Ark Royal Restaurant

Tasteful and full of taste, the Ark Royal restaurant offers both a relaxing atmosphere and delicious food. Overlooking the Solent, you'll have your pick of our A la carte menu or Sunday lunch carvery menu.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:45 - 10:00
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Illustrious Lounge Bar

Enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere, and a traditional carvery! If you prefer, order from our varied gastro-pub style menu.

Opening hours

Lunch: 11:00 - 16:00
Dinner: 16:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image


Our hotel bar is ideal for those who want to watch the world go by with a drink, or enjoy traditional cuisine with your fellow guests.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Great Sultans

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6248 Yards
Handicap required


5.00 miles away in Portsmouth


Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £9.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Hayling Island

Course information

Course Type: Links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 0
Par: 72
Distance: 6670 Yards
No handicap required


8.00 miles away in Portsmouth


Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
18 holes £40.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes


With a variety of function rooms, we're the perfect partner when it comes to wedding receptions!


Wedding service and reception venue

Here at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel we have 6 fine wedding suites to serve your every need. Many of our suites overlook the sea and enjoy panoramic views.
For full details of all our wedding packages click on


Choose from our wide selection of wedding breakfast menus to find the right menu for your special day. Whether it be a small buffet celebration or a lavish banquet we can provide the right menu to suit all occasions.

Honeymoon Suite

The perfect room for your perfect night!
Complete a most memorable day in one of our wonderful Honeymoon Suites overlooking the Solent.


Registry office:
Portsmouth City Council
Milldam House, Burnaby Road, Portsmouth PO1 3AF
023 92829041

For any enquiries please call Events Team on 023 92731281

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type PO4 0RN

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M27, J12, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Portsmouth & Southsea, 2.50 miles
Nearest tube station: na, 0.00 mins
Nearest airport: Southampton, 27.00 miles
Free parking on site (45 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

St Helen's Parade

What's nearby?


  • Fratton Park (1.6 miles)

  • Mountbatten Leisure Centre (4.1 miles)

  • The Pyramids Centre (0.4 miles)

  • Portsmouth Golf Centre (3.3 miles)

  • Portsmouth Tennis Centre (1.9 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (2.3 miles)

  • Spinnaker Tower (2 miles)

  • Royal Marines Museum (1 miles)

  • D-Day Museum & Overlord Embroidery (0.6 miles)

  • Blue Reef Aquarium (0.8 miles)


  • Gunwharf Quays (2.1 miles)

  • Cascades Shopping Centre (2.6 miles)

  • Commercial Road (2.6 miles)

  • Palmerston Road (0.8 miles)

  • Albert Road (0.8 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events


Of course, we cater for 1 on 1 interviews and large conferences, but we're just as accommodating for week-long meetings, school proms, graduation balls, wedding receptions, Christenings, wakes, ladies festival weekends and any other kind of celebration!

Available room set ups

U shape


The largest of all our suites accommodating up to 300+ guests. A room divider is also available for separation. Air conditioning, natural daylight, integral bar, side entrance if required, own cloakroom and can facilitate a stage if required.


Ideal for all types of conferences. Enjoys good natural daylight and comes equipped with pull down screen and special downlighting.


Recently refurbished , light and refreshing suite with panoramic views over the Solent and to the west. A popular room for private dinners, conferences and training days.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Invincible 250 160 50 50 240
Ark Royal 0 0 0 0 160
Fearless 50 30 28 28 50
Intrepid 50 30 28 28 50
Endurance 24 18 16 16 0
Victory Suite 100 60 28 32 160
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 849 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 336
Rating: 4 327
Rating: 3 125
Rating: 2 41
Rating: 1 20


07/10/2015 272David, Nether Heyford, United Kingdom

Had thought that at £150 a night for bed and breakfast, that a more peaceful evening would have been experienced. There were 2 reunions taking place and very noisy party guests on the saturday night y... more


A hotel set on the front of Southsea overlooking the sea

07/10/2015 Stephen S,

Here for two nights in mid September and upgraded to a sea view room overlooking the Pier and worth the money. Excellent views over the sea and promenade. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal ... more


Room without a view

06/10/2015 SolentAnne, Fareham, United Kingdom

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Ship's Reunion booked via a reputable travel company. Sadly disappointed with room allocation despite booking months ago. The hotel was fully booked & although we ... more


"nd fantastic Stay

05/10/2015 Irene L, Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom

This is the second time we have had a 5 day stay at this hotel, (it was just as good this time (if not better if that can be!) The hotel is very clean, the staff are so helpful and pleasant and the ch... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for a lovely review of the hotel and I am really pleased you another good stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

poor choice for independent travellers if a conference is taking place

03/10/2015 JMP500,

We booked a high floor sea view room via We were allocated a first floor box room overlooking the car park as we had not used their own web site to book. There were 2 conferences taking ... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review which I was disappointed to read. When booking with you cannot book sea view rooms only standard rooms, We receive many bookings through them with requests for sea views and where they are available we upgrade where we can, you will always receive a better price and choice when booking direct with the hotel. All standard rooms are the same size as advertised on their site and have exactly the same facilities as the sea view rooms only smaller in dimensions. I am pleased you found all the staff helpful and I hope this does not put you off visiting again and if so contact me directly and I will organize an upgrade for you, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM