• 8.5 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From

Explore Hotel

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel.

Victorian charm and splendour overlooking the sea.

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel on the promenade at Southsea, Portsmouth, is the perfect venue for both business and pleasure. Outside its doors guests can enjoy magnificent views over the Solent.
Quintessentially the hotel is Victorian England, draped in history and splendour, a hotel where you can relax and also experience all the traditional hospitality associated with a very proud hotel.

Many of our beautifully furnished bedrooms overlook the sea. A grand staircase, a chandelier filled restaurant and sumptuous lounge await our loyal brand of guests.

There is complimentary on site limited car parking. Ample free parking is also available in adjacent streets. Dogs with well behaved owners are welcome by appointment!

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel in Portsmouth. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual Best Western quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the Best Western International Quality Award, a global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world. This award demonstrates how we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

View more

Location

St Helen's Parade
Portsmouth
Hampshire
PO4 0RN
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6233*
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: Accepted Dogs by agreement prior to arrival. Bedrooms only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Paul Playford

royal-beach-hotel-dining-18-83847

Ark Royal Restaurant

Tasteful and full of taste, the Ark Royal restaurant offers both a relaxing atmosphere and delicious food. Overlooking the Solent, you'll have your pick of our A la carte menu or Sunday lunch carvery menu.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:45 - 10:00
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Illustrious Lounge Bar

Enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere, and a traditional carvery! If you prefer, order from our varied gastro-pub style menu.

Opening hours

Lunch: 11:00 - 16:00
Dinner: 16:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
royal-beach-hotel-dining-13-83847

Illustrious

Our hotel bar is ideal for those who want to watch the world go by with a drink, or enjoy traditional cuisine with your fellow guests.

Opening hours

10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Great Sultans

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6248 Yards
Handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Portsmouth

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £9.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Hayling Island

Course information

Course Type: Links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 0
Par: 72
Distance: 6670 Yards
No handicap required

Location

8.00 miles away in Portsmouth

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £40.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

With a variety of function rooms, we're the perfect partner when it comes to wedding receptions!

Wedding service and reception venue

Here at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel we have 6 fine wedding suites to serve your every need. Many of our suites overlook the sea and enjoy panoramic views.
For full details of all our wedding packages click on www.royalbeachhotel.co.uk

Catering

Choose from our wide selection of wedding breakfast menus to find the right menu for your special day. Whether it be a small buffet celebration or a lavish banquet we can provide the right menu to suit all occasions.

Honeymoon Suite

The perfect room for your perfect night!
Complete a most memorable day in one of our wonderful Honeymoon Suites overlooking the Solent.

Registrar

Registry office:
Portsmouth City Council
Milldam House, Burnaby Road, Portsmouth PO1 3AF
023 92829041




For any enquiries please call Events Team on 023 92731281

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type PO4 0RN

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M27, J12, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Portsmouth & Southsea, 2.50 miles
Nearest tube station: na, 0.00 mins
Nearest airport: Southampton, 27.00 miles
Free parking on site (45 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
St Helen's Parade
Portsmouth
Hampshire
PO4 0RN
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Fratton Park (1.6 miles)

  • Mountbatten Leisure Centre (4.1 miles)

  • The Pyramids Centre (0.4 miles)

  • Portsmouth Golf Centre (3.3 miles)

  • Portsmouth Tennis Centre (1.9 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (2.3 miles)

  • Spinnaker Tower (2 miles)

  • Royal Marines Museum (1 miles)

  • D-Day Museum & Overlord Embroidery (0.6 miles)

  • Blue Reef Aquarium (0.8 miles)

Shopping

  • Gunwharf Quays (2.1 miles)

  • Cascades Shopping Centre (2.6 miles)

  • Commercial Road (2.6 miles)

  • Palmerston Road (0.8 miles)

  • Albert Road (0.8 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Of course, we cater for 1 on 1 interviews and large conferences, but we're just as accommodating for week-long meetings, school proms, graduation balls, wedding receptions, Christenings, wakes, ladies festival weekends and any other kind of celebration!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Invincible

The largest of all our suites accommodating up to 300+ guests. A room divider is also available for separation. Air conditioning, natural daylight, integral bar, side entrance if required, own cloakroom and can facilitate a stage if required.

Fearless

Ideal for all types of conferences. Enjoys good natural daylight and comes equipped with pull down screen and special downlighting.

Intrepid

Recently refurbished , light and refreshing suite with panoramic views over the Solent and to the west. A popular room for private dinners, conferences and training days.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Invincible 250 160 50 50 240
Ark Royal 0 0 0 0 160
Fearless 50 30 28 28 50
Intrepid 50 30 28 28 50
Endurance 24 18 16 16 0
Victory Suite 100 60 28 32 160
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1121 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 454
Rating: 4 425
Rating: 3 166
Rating: 2 51
Rating: 1 25
Rating

Not bad

27/09/2016 Chris24804766, Fareham, Hampshire

Went to a Masonic Ladies Night here at the weekend. The function room was one of three at the hotel. From what I saw of the place, it seems decent enough. The food provided by the hotel however, was ... more

Rating

Was here for a school reunion meeting

26/09/2016 David H, Exeter, United Kingdom

Was at this hotel for two nights, when we arrived on the Friday there was a wedding reception in the ark royal dinning room, so our party(of approximately forty) were located in another function/dinn... more

Rating

Not the "best" Western hotel...

26/09/2016 dormi87, London, United Kingdom

I went down to Portsmouth for a few days over Bank Holiday in August, for Victorious festival and visiting friends dotted around the south coast. However this meant that staying in one hotel for 2 con... more

Rating

What is it with Best Westerns?

26/09/2016 Cocobongoman, Exeter, United Kingdom

Stayed here for business and wouldn't again. I don't know what it is with Best Western hotels but I stayed in one in Wolverhampton and it stank of smoke. With a smoking ban in place I thought this wou... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you found the room adequate and breakfast plentiful, we are an older hotel and do not have air conditioning but fans are available and the sea breeze you mentioned often helps. The smoking area provided is through the rear of the hotel and the door which has a request to keep closed is often hooked back by the guests concerned, this we close on a regular basis. Our bar prices are lower than the other larger hotels in the area and we do offer a happy hour every evening from 6.30 pm to 7.30 pm when prices are 25% cheaper. I do believe we offer a good product at a competitive price in all areas of the hotel so I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM
Rating

Dissapointing

25/09/2016 Julie S, Worcester, United Kingdom

This was not an over-night stay I would want to repeat. Parking is very limited, the spaces are on the small side and it's (apparently) not uncommon to find yourself blocked in by fellow residents who... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, You are almost correct in that we have started from the fourth floor down but some first floor rooms are now done, as your blockage occurred late on a Saturday evening no maintenance staff were available and the unblocking was carried out by one of our porters who forgot to flush away the residue, not acceptable I know, he forgot, but I am pleased it was cleared. I have passed on your other comment to our housekeeper. Chilled water is suppled on all bedroom floors and the ground floor by the lift free of charge, if you order bottled water from the lounge bar that is chargeable, we do monitor prices in the area and we are cheaper than all the other large hotels in the area. I am pleased you were happy with the Duty Managers attention on check out, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM