One Bad Apple Spoils The Bunch
13/11/2019 Daniel C, Sunnyvale, United States
We have really enjoy our stays at Best Western Hotels, and they have become our go to hotel of choice. However…..On 10/26/2019 after a long drive from Oakdale, California my wife and I arrived at the ... more
We have really enjoy our stays at Best Western Hotels, and they have become our go to hotel of choice. However…..On 10/26/2019 after a long drive from Oakdale, California my wife and I arrived at the Best Western Roseville Inn in Roseville, California. Angela and Taylor were two ladies working the front desk. At approximately 3:30 p.m. we arrived and I identified myself to the front desk clerk, Angela, and as already having reserved a room. Angela, stated the hotel did not have any rooms available. I immediately felt an unsettling feeling. My wife’s chronic back pain was throbbing and we'd just spent all day in the car, including a long delay in heavy traffic coming through Sacramento. I informed Angela that I had booked the room back in early October with a credit card to guarantee the reservation. I even showed her a hard copy printout of my reservation. I asked her why there weren’t any rooms available. She stated she didn’t know why. A hotel is supposed to check their bookings in the morning so they can pre-assign its rooms. It’s readily apparent this wasn’t done. I asked if she knew the problem was because there weren’t enough housekeeping staff to service all the rooms. Angela said she didn’t know. I asked her if she could call housekeeping by way of a two-way hand held radio and find out if there were any rooms available. Angela said they were not in possession of any radios to do so. The no-available room problem I had could have easily been avoided if the front desk agents had reliable communication to know if any rooms were or were not available. She then suggested that we could go to the Best Western Plus on the other side of Highway 80. I stated that was not acceptable because a hotel should never send us packing particularly when we have a record of our booking. I am a long time Best Western Reward’s program member which is supposed to be less likely that I would be “walked” (arrange for accommodations of equal or better grade) to another property. It’s pretty pathetic considering how long ago we made the reservations. We were very dissatisfied. I am justifiably angry at how this was handled. The law of contract is clear about imposing duties on hotels. A room reservation is a contract, which a hotel is legally obligated to honor. I then asked to speak to the hotel manager, Ms. Shaima Salimi. Angela stated that Ms. Salimi was not available. I then advised Angela to grant me the first guest room that became available. As I waited for the first room to become available, travelers were still coming in to rent rooms. Some of the travelers were being turned away and told there were no rooms available. Some were even told they could try the Best Western Plus on the other side of Highway 80. After a while, I began to notice that some of the travelers were being checked into rooms. I asked a guest as she was leaving the lobby if she had been assigned a room. She said she had. I then approached Angela and reminded her that I specifically had advised her that I was to be granted the first available room. I told her I saw that it seemed other travelers were being given preference over my request, especially as being a long time rewards member, to be granted the first room that became available. The other front desk clerk, Taylor, stated the room that was just assigned was a “special” room, which indicated it was a handicap room. I approached the woman who just left the lobby if her room was a special or handicap room. She said it was not. At this point, my patience was taken to a new high. Taylor had deliberately lied to me. I approached Taylor and informed her that she had not been truthful with me. She said nothing in her defense. I then demanded I was to be given the next room. One hour later at about 4:30 p.m., I contacted and spoke with a Best Western customer service agent and complained about the entire situation my wife and I were going through. After complaining in detail, the agent apologized for the bad disservice. The agent suggested if I wanted to seek compensation. I told him absolutely yes! He stated he would follow up with my complaint by contacting the hotel manger, Shaima Salimi, and for her to contact me. Another half hour went by when we were finally given a room. We will not be returning back to the Best Western Roseville Inn. This was the worst experience we've ever had a Best Western hotel. This horrible experience makes me wonder if Shaima Salimi has any educational degrees in Hospitality and Event Management. I strongly believe a reservation is a binding contract consisting of mutual promises. An agreement by a hotel to provide the accommodation at the quoted rate, and the client agrees to pay constitutes a binding contract. As of this writing, 11/04/2019, I have not received a response from the Shaima Salimi. less
BWRoseville, General Manager at Best Western Roseville Inn, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We have reply and reached out to the other concern you had send us in the past regarding this stay. We do see your frustration after traveling a long trip to the property. That was a busy weekend for us. Hotel did owner the reservation you had for the day. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Looking forward seeing you on the next trip to make a better stay with us.