Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Roker Hotel.

Seaside charm in Sunderland.

The Best Western Roker Hotel overlooks the dramatic North Sea from its enviable Sunderland vantage point. Roker Pier & Lighthouse are clearly visible from the hotel too, while the city centre is just 5 minutes drive away.

If you're following your team away from home, Sunderland FCs Stadium of Light is also within easy reach of the hotel.

Thanks to our seaside location, we can offer guests the best of both worlds. Shop til you drop, or stretch your legs on a coastal walk the choice is yours here in Sunderland!

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to the Best Western Roker Hotel in Sunderland. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual Best Western quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the Best Western International Quality Award. A global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world, this award shows that we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

Congratulations to the hotel on achieving our 12th International Quality Award at their assessment this week 978 on GRPA. GRPA ranked at 17th position.

View more

Location

Roker Terrace
Sunderland
Tyne And Wear
SR6 9ND
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6266*
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

roker-hotel-dining-34-83888

Italian Farmhouse

Our Tavistock Italia benefits from an innovative design which incorporates plenty of style and comfort. Our interior walls are covered with memorabilia from an array of famous icons, including Madonna, Michael Jackson, Sir Elton John and Frank Sinatra.

Opening hours

Dinner: 17:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
roker-hotel-dining-70-83888

Poetic License

In keeping with our sports bar theme, the R Bar boasts memorabilia from an array of sports stars. In a traditional pub style, the bar is finished with brass features, has 2 pool tables and 4 games machines. Food served daily, while free WiFi is available so you can surf as you watch the surf!

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Whitburn

Course information

Course Type: Inland Link Course
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5000 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in Sunderland

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £19.00
18 holes £26.00
Trolley hire £2.00
Buggy hire £15.00
Tuition £25.00
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

From the first enquiry to the last dance, you'll be looked after by the same Wedding Coordinator. That means we can focus on every last detail, and offer a truly personal service. You'll have your own Master of Ceremonies, while a red carpet, cake stand & knife are all included too!

roker-hotel-wedding-events-20-83888roker-hotel-wedding-events-21-83888roker-hotel-wedding-events-19-83888roker-hotel-wedding-events-18-83888

Wedding service and reception venue

We have various entertainment options for you to choose from, so whether you want to dance to a DJ and or let your hair down to a live band, your night will be as unforgettable as the day itself.

Catering

As the happy couple, you'll have the option of choosing one of our seasonal package menus or tailor making your own from the numerous dishes available. Whatever you go for, you can enjoy silver service with a smile!

Registrar

Registry office:
Sunderland City Council
Civic Centre Sunderland
0191 5205509




Get in touch...

For any enquiries please call Tracey Dixon on 01915 671786

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type SR69ND

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J62, 12.00 miles
Nearest train station: Sunderland, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: Newcastle, 20.00 miles
Free parking on site (120 spaces)
On site disabled parking (4 spaces)

Address
Roker Terrace
Sunderland
Tyne And Wear
SR6 9ND
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Sunderland AFC - Stadium of Light (2 miles)

  • Newcastle Utd - St James Park (10 miles)

  • Middlesbrough FC - Riverside Stadium (40 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Stadium of Light (2 miles)

  • National Glass Centre (1 miles)

  • Empire Theatre (2 miles)

Shopping

  • Bridges Shopping Centre (1.5 miles)

  • Metro Centre (15 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

roker-hotel-meeting-space-07-83888

Our ballroom holds up to 350 people, so there's more than enough room for your big events!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Grand Room 350 180 0 90 330
Pier Lounge 60 30 0 30 45
Boardroom 10 6 0 10 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 603 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 219
Rating: 4 172
Rating: 3 81
Rating: 2 50
Rating: 1 81
Rating

Great atmosphere

02/02/2016 fazlane, Liverpool, United Kingdom

2nd time visiting here with friends . We are from liverpool & enjoy coming here. Had a meal , mine was full sheet ribs which was served in wooden box . Nice enough but was up through night rather ill ... more

Owner Response
TavistockHospitality, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so are your comments regarding how we present our food and we are naturally grateful for you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you again as we promise to continue our efforts to improve. Yours sincerely Management Team
Rating

How can an established be so inconsistent! !

30/01/2016 KGG67,

We have left several reviews in this place, both good and bad!! This one very bad. Be very careful of the £1 you pay for a so called loyalty card! !!! "The tills are not working properly so you can't ... more

Rating

Purely Perfect

30/01/2016 Rob C,

All staff cheery & happy to help with everything, bar staff were clearly well trained and made excellent cocktails. Great calzone in the Pizzeria, the hotel was clean tidy and well maintained. Met the... more

Owner Response
TavistockHospitality, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to post a review and I would also like to thank you for the positive feedback and are pleased we we were able to impress you. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully impress you once more. Yours sincerely Management Team
Rating

Xmas Day Lunch disaster do not book

24/01/2016 MarkB006, Sunderland, United Kingdom

Christmas Day Lunch was like watching Kitchen Nightmares. I booked a table for 6 including 2 children and to say it was horrendous is putting it lightly. It started all good the starters came out but ... more

Rating

Giles saves the day....

22/01/2016 MrsK2, Torquay, United Kingdom

Stayed two nights whilst attending family funeral. Booked Cosy Double and Twin Rooms - 113 & 112 on checkin. The Cosy double was very small with only one bedside cabinet and a ledge covering pipes in ... more

Owner Response
TavistockHospitality, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your time posting a review but I am however disappointed that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. There are lots of options available to guests travelling to our hotel via booking agents and we would advise guests that is it not to always best to reserve the cheapest room available as we have a number of options available cosy doubles, standard and executive rooms with the price reflecting the different standards. We do understand that were staying with us very difficult circumstances and we do apologise for the issues you encountered with your meal and breakfast and can assure you that these will be address with our Executive Chef but are pleased that you were looked after. You have mentioned that you did received a discount and other items complimentary from Giles which was at his discretion without the Senior Management being aware but appreciate your comments. We are saddened by your comments but again thank you for taking the time place your review and hope that you would consider using our hotel again Yours sincerely Management Team