Get rid of office help.
The room was nice, I will give it that, but that's as far as I'd go. DIL booked rooms, and didn't think about accessibility. I called 5 hrs. earlier to ask what floor we were on and told 2nd floor. Explained that we are physically handicapped, and our children have 2 babies & all that goes with. Even when we asked, we were told that all rooms on the 1st floor were already booked,and basically - "too bad" that hubby cannot walk w/o assistance, and I .have had 16 knee surgeries, and right now fighting with a fractured kneecap. Yeah, stairs are not our friends.
Pool hours are from 9:30a - 10:30p. How can people enjoy a nice swim in the AM when they are busy checking out ? Same with at night when adults want to swim after coming in from a night out, or get the kids to bed. Also, as we traveled over 700 miles to visit our grandkids and children, we had our local family & kids come over to visit and use the pool. The next afternoon, we had to find out from an outside family member that non-guests are not allowed in the pool room or the pool - EVEN THOUGH IT'S NOT STATED ANYWHERE. Also, we were told that the pool room was trashed. I'm sorry, but I'm a 63 y/o woman who does NOT leave messes. In fact, I personally walked the entire pool room and picked up every anything that was laying around. That room was spotless. Because of this, we were threatened to be evicted if we kept it up.
Breakfast is only served until 9:30a. Too early in my opinion, especially when one can go to any other hotel chain and breakfast is served until at least 10:30a. After breakfast, the area is roped off. At one point, the female working the front desk treated me as if I was going to take down the rope and barge through to the dining area, simply because I stood AT the rope and the just looking - not even touching anything.
The lady who worked the front desk all weekend - Melissa; yeah, she either needs an attitude adjustment or find employment where she doesn't need to interact with people. Her attitude was "my way is final", and would not hesitate to argue. We were overcharged on our room at final checkout, and even though I had it in black / white, she wasn't going to budge on adjusting until another lady came out. Even she was a little strong but finally decided " just this one time" to credit the account. I also went to Melissa at one point and explained that we were staying in town one extra night, but could not afford to stay at this motel ($100+ for 1 bed) and could she price match another hotel in town. When Melissa replied, I was actually stunned at her attitude. I actually felt dirty / scorched. Her attitude was "how dare I" ask such a thing. Well, my theory is that less is better than nothing. If I can fill a room and make "some" money, that is better than NO money. Oh well, Guess my thoughts are wrong.
Will my husband and I stay there again ? NO. While offering a nice room is good, that is only part of a good stay. I want to stay somewhere where we are treated with courtesy and accommodate their guests, not themselves. less
, Front Office Manager at Best Western River Terrace, responded to this review
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As for the pool & whirlpool, there is a sign posted right on the front door of the pool that NO VISITORS are allowed in the pool area and when you signed your registration it also states the same thing right on the registration card. We do not have a "public" pool, it is only for guests. How are other guests supposed to enjoy the pool when other guests invite 20 people to use it. This is exactly why we have the rules we do, and why they are stated in black & white on the pool door and registration card. When we have multiple guests coming to complain about all the people in the pool & their behavior, we are not going to let this be just to make someone who doesn't obey the stated rules happy.