Overbooked and bumped
21/05/2017 PHayne, Nashville, Tennessee
So I never got a chance to stay here. They emailed me that they had oversold the hotel, and that I wouldn't have a room. But they "offered" to put me up at the Midway airport, which is 11 miles and 35... more
So I never got a chance to stay here. They emailed me that they had oversold the hotel, and that I wouldn't have a room. But they "offered" to put me up at the Midway airport, which is 11 miles and 35 minutes away, and at the same rate as downtown ($340)! Midway Marriott currently is running $230/night. So basically, Best Western River North is running their business like an airline. Overbook, then kick people off the plane. Only there is no compensation offered. Just "get out, we don't care that we sent you a confirmation number". Oh, and the "connectivity" they cite as a reason didn't exist. I actually called the hotel after booking to make sure that it had gone through as I knew it would be a tight weekend. I was told, "no problem, here is your confirmation number". Just be careful staying here; you may be out on the street.
Here is the email:
"Thank you for choosing Best Western River North Hotel during your visit to the Chicagoland area.
Unfortunately, at the time your reservation was booked our hotel did not have any rooms left available for the dates of your stay. This was due to a connectivity issue which allowed your reservation to be booked, but not transmitted into our hotel’s property management system.
While we love the opportunity to have you as our guest we’re unable to accommodate your reservation and have made alternate arrangements for you at the full-service Chicago Marriott Midway for your requested stay dates of June 3rd, 2017- June 5th, 2017. The price of your reservation in the amount of $339.99 per night is being honored at the alternate hotel." less
Delores B, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review
We appreciate you sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor visitors and totally understand your being upset. We truly wish there was something that we could do to prevent having to relocate our guests. We would absolutely love to have you stay with us. Unfortunately this is out of our control. We did not bump guests due to overselling. There was actually a glitch in the system which caused guest to be able to book rooms that were not available. The hotel has been sold out as many of hotels in the area for over a year due to the ASCO Convention. Please know that there was nothing the staff and/or management could have done to predict and/or prevent this from occurring. This is the first and playfully the last time we encounter anything of this nature. We did the best we could to notify our guests and provide options of refund and/or alternate locations. If there is anything we can do please email me @ firstname.lastname@example.org