Lied to by staff, unclean, not a great experience
First, we called ahead on Monday to find out if the pool would be open as the kids pirate ship was the sole reason for choosing this specific Best Western. If it wouldn't have been open, we'd have cho... more
First, we called ahead on Monday to find out if the pool would be open as the kids pirate ship was the sole reason for choosing this specific Best Western. If it wouldn't have been open, we'd have chosen to stay in Hill City Best Western or one of the hotels in Rapid City that were 1/2 the price.. Staff said, it should be open Tuesday, it was filled, just waiting for it to heat up. When we arrived Tuesday night, and I asked they said it should be open Wednesday that it was filled and just waiting for it to heat up. Wednesday comes and we go to peek at it. This kiddie pool was NOT filled up, the hot tub was NOT filled up. So, I called them from my cell to get the EXACT same answer: they said it was filled up and just waiting for it to be heated up. I realize this is a very trivial reason to be upset, but had they just told us it wouldn't be ready through our stay, we could've booked in Hill City.
Second, when I walked down to the hotel main desk from my room, the smell down the hall was unbearable. It smelt of urine something fierce.
Third, and not too significant, the room wasn't in great shape. Damaged door, shower, pillows were tiny and we weren't provided with many, "comforter" (if you can call it that) was itchy. If I'd have wanted motel 6 quality, we'd have booked a motel 6. less
WLampert, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your recent review.
I appreciate you pointing out areas for improvement. We strive extremely hard to insure that each and every guest that walk through our doors leave with a favorable impression of our hotel. However, on occasion we fall short of the goals we set forth for ourselves and I want to apologies to you for that lapse. I do want to also apologize if the Best Western Central Reservations gave you conflicting information on our pool, We closed our pool and Water Park down due to the COVID-19 Pandemic for the safety of our guest and team members. We were in the process in reopening the pool but not the Water Park when you booked your reservation. We did not advertise or promote the pool opening because we did not know for sure know when it would be ready for the public and we informed you at check in that it would not be ready and we did not know for sure when it would be. I do apologize again if there was any confusion.
Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and we can visit in more details.