Racist operations manager and dirty room with no solution offered.
Before I begin this lengthy review, I would like to say that the one employee who went above and beyond for me was Shane. He wrote down my issues and apologized several times and said that there was no excuse for these issues and someone would get in touch with me about them. I checked out at 10am, and waited for a call that never came through.
I went into address the issues with the operations manager Crystal, and I was not only called a liar, but that I was trying to take advantage of the Covid situation for my benefit. I made the mistake of not addressing any issues while other guests were present, when obviously I should have. I was belittled for not speaking of these issues until I checked out, and that she did not believe me that I would stay in a dirty room and not say anything until I checked out. I pointed out that I was working on a job and left before 6am the first two nights and I got an attitude for that as well. I told Shane about the issues and watched him write down everything and leave the note in an obvious spot, and she got huffy and said that he didn't leave anything for me I don't know what the hell you are talking about. Once she started to address the issues while angrily typing on her computer, rather than apologize for the room being dirty, instead the blame was put on the housekeepers because they "only have two because everyone else would rather not work and collect unemployment".
When I brought up the disgusting filters on the air conditioners, Crystal said they are a preventative maintenance cleaning that is only done every 6 months. She originally offered a free night stay for my troubles, then refunded me $40. Crystal then advised that someone threatened to kill her because of issues he was having she wouldn't refund, and she leaned in close and pulled down her mask and said "he was a black guy, what do you expect". Then she proceeded to tell me that usually she uses her size to intimidate customers because "she's a bigger girl" but she was "scared to walk to her vehicle after her shift". Highly unprofessional for an operations manager to discuss another customer and blame his race for his actions especially with everything going on in 2021.
I originally stayed in the jacuzzi suite, for a total of $546 for three nights. In that room there was dust everywhere, only one of the air conditioners worked half the time, the bathroom had not been thoroughly cleaned as there was disgusting dirt and grime all over the shampoo and body was dispensers, there was an empty roll left on the toilet paper dispenser, there were stains on the furniture, the patio doors locks were busted and loose, and there was just a nasty unclean feeling in the room. Had there been no issues, I would have not objected to this amount one bit.
Unfortunately I needed to stay another night, and the room I got had the light switch panel hanging off the wall, lose electrical outlet in the bathroom, and a mysterious black substance in the shower. She demanded I tell her immediately if there were any issues with the room, but with the way she treated this situation before, I knew better than to say anything about the room. I'm not sure why making money is more important than guest safety and room cleanliness especially during Covid. less
Thank You, Owner at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review
Sorry you feel that way. First of all you twisted the entire situation. The manager is definitely not a racist and you were given a refund of $100. We do not condone behavior from guests like.