My family and I stayed at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites on the night of Friday, August 16. Unfortunately, we were quite disappointed with our experience, and feel it was not commensurate with the amount we paid for our room.
We arrived at the hotel, tired after a long drive. When I checked in, the clerk told me where our room was, and indicated which stairs to go up to get to our room. (There was no elevator) I went back to the car, and my family and I got our bags out to go to our room.
As we went up the stairs, I noticed there was a fair amount of debris on the stairway, which gave me the feeling that this hotel was not going to be nearly as nice as I had hoped. However, the debris on the stairs was nothing compared to what awaited us when we got to the top of the stairs. The entire walkway was torn up. There were tools blocking the doorway, and wet mortar at the entrance to the hallway. When my husband approached the top of the stairs, he said this couldn’t possibly be the right way to our room. I went back and checked the sign with the room numbers to see if we had made a wrong turn, but we hadn’t. We asked one of the tile workers where our room was and he indicated it was about halfway down the hall, and moved his tools aside so we could get through, taking care not to step on the wet mortar.
The room was very nice, and clean. But having to walk through a construction zone to get there really put a bad taste in our mouths. It is honestly unbelievable to me that this would be considered acceptable. When we got to our room, my husband called the front desk to complain. Their solution was to move us to a room a couple doors down. The entire hallway was torn up, so we still had untiled hallway, but I guess we were now a little closer to the other stairway, which was at least usable and didn’t require us to step over the active work in progress. Shortly after 9 am on the morning of our stay, we began hearing the sound of power tools, as work on the hallway resumed.
Our stay at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites was one of five places we stayed on a week-long road trip. It was the most expensive place we stayed on our trip (by a substantial amount) and the least satisfactory. I can well understand that construction and renovations need to be done. However, I do think a discount should be offered when those renovations inconvenience guests.
When checking out, I took one of the manager's business cards, which were at the front desk. On August 20, I sent an email to the manager with the above information and a request for a partial refund. I did not get a response, so sent a follow-up email on August 26. Still no response.
I remain quite disappointed in our stay at this hotel, and the lack of any meaningful response to our complaints. I am aware that the area is not cheap (we have stayed in the area before, as well as other pricy areas). However, for the amount we paid, we certainly should not have had to pick our way through a dirty, active construction zone. We will definitely look elsewhere next time we are in the area. less
BWWineCountryInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review
I would like to thank both you and your companion for taking the time to each review the same stay at our hotel. I would again like to apologize that our tile installers were running a bit behind schedule at the time you arrived. Our intention was to be completed with the work in front of the first room by the time you checked in. I am glad that we were able to immediately move your group and your bags to a new room. I apologize that the tile work was not completed outside of your new room. While we do our best to minimize any inconvenience to our guests while we are improving the hotel, every once in a while things do not go according to plans, and a guest is inconvenienced. I apologize that during this work, you were those guests.
In our breakfast we offer bananas, oranges, apples, blueberries (when in season), pineapple, and watermelon. I'm so sorry you missed the fruit section of our breakfast. Now that the tile work has been completed, I hope you are able to come back and see the finished product.
Again, thank you both for taking the time to share your experience.