Not mobility friendly and menu not as stated on its site
22/03/2019 melo7, walsall
Went with my wife to this hotel through Hotel Gift. co for an anniversary present on a Friday in February. I am 70 years of age and have mobility problems. We were hoping to have a swim, sauna and a l... more
Went with my wife to this hotel through Hotel Gift. co for an anniversary present on a Friday in February. I am 70 years of age and have mobility problems. We were hoping to have a swim, sauna and a lovely meal in the evening. Unfortunately, we found out that to get to the bar, dining area and the pool area there were a number of stairs. We were told by staff that the pool area would not be suited for me as there were a number of steps. I asked about mobility access and was told that it was quite a walk to get to the bar area without using stairs and it was outside walk. We did not see any lifts. We managed to get to the bar and asking about the meal and were informed that the restaurant was being refurbished and no meals were being served in the bar only sandwiches and that was only till 5pm. We then went to reception to book a table for the evening meal and was told the menu had not yet been decided this was at 5.30pm and they would inform us when it was ready. We went to the room Lodge 26, we had to drive there and we could park outside. However, the room was outdated, small and there was mould on one of the walls by the bed. We received the menu at about 630pm and it was nothing like as stated on the site. It was two courses for £20 or 3 for £25. The choices were nothing special. We were really disappointed as we were looking forward to the day. We decided not to stay and my wife went to reception and they said we should complain giving us details of who to complain to. Th reception staff told us we could have eaten in the bar but the bar staff told us we couldn't. We ended up having a bar meal nearer home. We did complain, at first they offered 25% refund but eventually agreed on 50%. However, we still felt this was harsh as we had not used any of the facilities as we stayed in the room waiting for the menu. less
vivianamoroni, Guest Services Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is disappointing to read about your experience with us as, obviously we do have alternative entrances for every outlet in the hotel rather than the swimming pool area however longer walking routes need to be taken.
I would like to thank you to give me the opportunity to talk personally and as I explained,unfortunately it was all out of our hands as your booking company did not highlight any special need requirements upon reservation.
I happily agreed to your partial refund as a gesture of goodwill and understanding however your dissatisfaction and charge should have been discussed and disputed with the source of your booking.
Guest Services Manager