Awful On The Street
15/11/2019 Hawaii-Fan-from-LA, Los Angeles
It is impossible to sleep in 1/2 of this hotel. 50% of the rooms are on a VERY busy three lane street like a highway with buses and loud trucks going by, even late at night. They shake the room and ... more
It is impossible to sleep in 1/2 of this hotel. 50% of the rooms are on a VERY busy three lane street like a highway with buses and loud trucks going by, even late at night. They shake the room and wake you up. The human body is meant to respond to rumbling and things which the mind perceives as a possible threat. And so of course you wake up. I think I got 2 hours of sleep the night there. Other reviewers have mentioned this, which I noticed after my stay and in writing this. Attached is a picture showing this. When I called on the phone ahead of arrival, they hid this fact. I asked before getting there if there were "better" rooms than the category of my booking. The woman said that all rooms "were the same." When I checked in, I could see my room would be in the building right on the street. I said I was worried about the noise and to their credit they said, "Well, you can cancel without penalty and leave now." But this was the height of summer and the chances of getting another reservation nearby were small. I asked for a room which was not on the street. They said those rooms were sold out. Of course they were because you can't sleep unless you are in those rooms. On top of all that, when I came back at night after a wedding, all the parking underground was full. I had to find a place two blocks away. The front desk girl just shrugged about this the next day on checkout and said, "OK, I'll credit what we charged you for parking last night." They acted like it was a big deal not to charge me for something I didn't get. I can figure that she's not the owner of this place and probably not even a full time employee, but you'd think you'd get a better response than that. How about paying for the place I did find to park 2 blocks away?
The worst hotel I've stayed at in 3 to 5 years, and I travel a great deal.
The only plus is that housekeeping was excellent. The room was very very clean. less
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review
We apologize for your less than comfortable stay and that we did not leave you with the fond memories that so many of our guests speak of. We are sorry that you were deterred due to the noise on the street and that we could not amend prior to your departure and move your room. We regret that this has left you feeling less of our hotel and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Monterey and demonstrate just how committed we are to personal and attentive service.
Management of the Inns of Monterey