Bad smell from A/C in room
09/10/2019 NLStratton, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Our stay at the Best Western was somewhat disappointing. We paid extra for a larger room and, to be fair, the room was a good size with a decent fridge, microwave, TV, etc. It was generally clean but ... more
Our stay at the Best Western was somewhat disappointing. We paid extra for a larger room and, to be fair, the room was a good size with a decent fridge, microwave, TV, etc. It was generally clean but dated and in need of refurbishment. The tiled entranceway to the room looked clean but was very sticky - our feet stuck to it as we entered. We cleaned it ourselves using wet tissues and this revealed the floor to be actually quite dirty. This suggests the cleaning substances being used are less than ideal.
The shower/bath was a very odd and dated design with strange slanting built in shelves. The bath had some repair evidence in the basin.
The worst thing about the room was a horrible acrid smell which high us upon entering. It was hard to pin down but somewhat like cat urine. We suspected the air con unit as the source and when we went out the next day we switched it off and left the windows open. Right enough, the room was less smelly on our return which seemed to back up the A/C unit as the source. Perhaps we were just unlucky in having a smelly unit in our room but I think the hotel should seriously investigate the smell issue as it's been mentioned in several previous reviews and perhaps a thorough clean of the air con units would resolve it.
Breakfast was poor with watered down fruit juice and baked goods that lacked in any taste.
Definitely not worth the money. This was more like a budget hotel experience for mid-range cost. The smell was dreadful and we should have raised it at the time but were too tired to be bothered with the hassle.
BwPlus815, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton, responded to this review
Thank You for staying with us we appreciated your feedback. I apologized for we didn’t met your expectations during your stay. We will address this issue to Maintenance and Head of Housekeeper to make it better. If you have any concerns please feel free to reach me 603-926-6771.