Mixed review, sorry.
My children and I stayed at the Sutter House recently while we were visiting and touring the State Capitol. I really have mixed feelings about our stay.
-Mostly nice and knowledgeable staff. Front desk manager was very nice and very apologetic regarding my stay.
-Wonderful and plentiful full breakfast with waffle station, oatmeal, cereal, toast, pastries, biscuits/gravy, (microwaved/scrambled) eggs and sausage/bacon, cold hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, milk, variety of coffee and teas, an admittedly much too sweet coffee machine.
-Room nicely decorated, (looked) clean, nice and plentiful pillows.
-Great location. My young children could walk to the Capitol and to Old Sacramento.
-Free and good connection wifi.
-My little one awoke with a bloody nose and was upset she got blood on the bedding, but housekeeping changed the sheets.
-There are signs posted about water conservation and that they follow the "on the floor = replace towels, hung up = stay towels", but every afternoon, there would be fresh clean towels folded and supplied.
Our room location: Rm 126, was horrible and probably the worst room in the house. It was furthest from the one elevator, closest to the housekeeping and vending machines, and closest to the train tracks. Thus, it was loud!! Every few minutes you could hear the local street metro train and the train announcements, quite clearly, whenever the train stopped. There was continuous street noise....My home is near a freeway and this was way worse. The bathroom fan is horrifically loud; I was afraid to turn on the bathroom light and wake my heavy sleepers it was so loud. The hallway outside the room is tile, so every morning between 7:00-7:30am, we would hear the housekeeping pulling out every single housekeeping cart and the banging against the walls and the carts being dragged along the tile hallway. Then the housekeepers would leave all of the carts right outside my room. So it was hard to get out of the room and navigate past them. Like, I had to shove a bunch of them down the hall and away from my door when we checked out just to get our luggage out of the room. The bedding smelled overly strong of bleach overkill. Lastly, unfortunately, I didn't see any evidence of bed bugs, but did awaken with some sort of insect bites around my wrists, waist and ankles where my skin was exposed.
Booking: I booked through tripadvisor.com. I clicked on the link for the available room rate, $99/nt. When I received my confirmation email from the hotel, I was charged $107.99 nt. I didn't make anything of it as I thought that difference included the hotel taxes. When I received my confirmation from tripadvisor though, I was notified that I would be charged almost $400 for the stay. I spent a great deal of time on the phone and email (screenshots of the still posted $99 rate and my emails) with tripadvisor to clarify and correct what appeared to be a bait and switch.
-Tripadvisor was able to communicate with the hotel, and when I receive my credit card statement, I am supposed to be refunded the difference between what was advertised and what I was charged.
-I spoke to the front desk manager upon checking out, and she immediately was horrified that my family was even assigned that room. She said that she only assigns that room if the hotel is completely full and then gives the guests earplugs, and she said that the person who checked me in was new and didn't know. She was very nice and apologetic and begged me to give the Sutter House another try. less
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review
I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing stay. I will be addressing all of your comments with my staff as we take all of our reviews very seriously. Our maintenance engineer retired from the Pest Control Industry (30years) and has a branch 3 operators license, he inspected the room you were staying in and found the room "bug free". We unfortunately have no control over the "bait and switch" that sometimes goes on when booking thru a 3rd party web site, it is extremely frustrating, and Best Western as well as the hospitality industry is working diligently to try and stop this. Please give me a call the next time your travels bring you to Sacramento, as we would love the opportuntiey to make it up to you.