Terrible Customer Service
10/06/2019 AimeePaulR, Red Deer, Canada
I called late to book a room for my son's hockey tournament. The hotel was full and so I asked to be on a waiting list. The gentlemen asked for my credit card which I thought was odd but he said its n... more
I called late to book a room for my son's hockey tournament. The hotel was full and so I asked to be on a waiting list. The gentlemen asked for my credit card which I thought was odd but he said its needed to be put on a cancellation list. In the meantime I booked at another hotel in Lethbridge. The day of check in Best Western called to confirm my reservation and I said I never made a reservation but there was one in the system. I advised I had another hotel booked and I was staying there as other players were also. They advised me that I would still be responsible to pay for my hotel at Best Western even though I never made a reservation, only on a cancellation list. I spoke to the manager who also said its their policy that if they don't sell the room I am responsible to pay for it. I was very upset so the manager advised she would investigate more and get back to me. I waited and waited and called back and they were very short and rude with me but confirmed I was "lucky" as they sold my room. This whole situation ruined my day and made me very upset. less
Bruce P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Service Inn & Suites, responded to this review
I am sorry to have read that you tried to book a room for your son's hockey tournament after the group block had been released and that you were put on the waiting list. In speaking with Joel, he did indicate that he was able to find you a room only a couple of days prior to the tournament, booked it for you and sent the email confirmation letter. As our hotel conducts 'pre reservation calls' to our guests to ensure accuracy in their reservations, I was quite pleased to have read that it did its job in discovering that you had found accommodations in another hotel and we were able to cancel your room. In discussing your concerns with Anne, who you spoke to when you called in to the hotel, she confirmed that you 'had nothing to worry about' as we had already sold the room that you advised you didn't need during our 'pre reservation call' the night before. I find it difficult to understand how a guest could have their day ruined and be very upset with first finding a room for you when you called last minute to book after the block had been released and then being advised that the room was sold to another, satisfied guest.
When traveling as a group, it is important to know the drop dates on all group blocks so that you are not disappointed that you cannot stay with the balance of your group. This is not the first time I have had to respond to guests who were not able to book as part of a group as they delayed in making their booking.