The only reason I booked this hotel was its' location. It is the closest hotel to the Costa Rican Immigration Department which I needed to go to at 7:00 AM. I live in Costa Rica in the south Pacif... more
The only reason I booked this hotel was its' location. It is the closest hotel to the Costa Rican Immigration Department which I needed to go to at 7:00 AM. I live in Costa Rica in the south Pacific region and I know San Jose well. This hotel is located in a very industrial area on the main highway (busy and noisy). I cannot imagine staying here as a tourist…. It is not convenient to much of anything (other than the CR Immigration Department).
Having said that, the hotel reception area is the most unattractive and unappealing hotel reception areas I have every seen. The employees work counter should have been replaced 10 years ago… what an eyesore. The reception staff are good, but nobody is great or outstanding. The room was OK (size and layout), but the A/C was noisy, and the bed was extremely uncomfortable, leading to a very unrestful night. I mentioned this to the staff during checkout and they said I should have said something the night before and they would have changed the mattress. Really? All rooms should have quality mattresses, guests should not have to report an issue with the bed and then go through the inconvenience of staff replacing the bed. Perhaps another room with a quality bed is a better solution. Poor management.
Restaurants…. There is a choice of the onsite restaurant (2 stars), Denny’s (1 star) next door or Subway Sandwiches across the street (which I would choose over Denny’s any day)
Breakfast was OK, the server was pleasant but the guy on the omelet station was miserable and grumpy.,, really bad demeanor.
Would not stay here again – for any reason. less
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review
Dear MyTravels2018, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel since our guests' feedback is very valuable to us.
We are truly sorry to learn that it was not up to your epxectations so we ask you to please accept our most sincere apologies for it. We assure you that we always strive to see our guests totally comfortable and satisfied so we make sure that they have everything they might need. We are very sorry that you did not find our reception pretty because we really do think it is very nice.
We are very sorry that you your bed mattress was not comfortable for you. Yes, our staff would have immediately changed the mattress if you had let them know about it. Our furnishinjgs are all of excellent quality (all the mattresses are of the best quality, what happens is that we place the mattresses randomly in the rooms, sometimes the mattresses are firmer than others and other times they are softer because people have different tastes and they all prefer different types of mattresses so we try to comply with them as much as we can and if they are not happy with the mattress they have, we either change it or move our guest to another room with a mattress more of his liking) and we always try to please and comply with our guests' differnet needs and tastes.
We are very distressed to learn that you found some of our staff memebers not too friendly; please accept our apologies for it. This is something that is completely unaccceptable because it goes against our customer service quality standards and against our hospitality philosophy. We assure you that we are going to see to it that it never happens again because our entire staff should embody everything our brand and our hotel stands for and represents. Once again, we apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.
On the other hand, we are glad that you liked our complimentary daily breakfast and that you found our proximity to the Costa Rican Immigration Department so convenient.
It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for your visit.
Guest Relations Manager