Make 100% certain they can accommodate if you have special requests and don't let the photographs fool you.
07/07/2019 helloceleste, Los Angeles, California
I booked through hotels.com on the 4th of July and called the hotel in advance to tell them I will be bringing our dogs and that I have an injury. When we arrived, they showed us a little map to get t... more
I booked through hotels.com on the 4th of July and called the hotel in advance to tell them I will be bringing our dogs and that I have an injury. When we arrived, they showed us a little map to get to our room - it was up a slight but gradual incline and faced this rocky mound at the back of the property. When they showed us the little map, they said it would only be up a ramp and "six steps" - turns out it was up a ramp or six steps *and* up on two flights of stairs which I for sure could not do with my injury. I called to see if they had a room we could move into instead and they said that they could not accommodate us; That they were sold out (mentioning later that they were over-sold). They offered to refund us, which was appreciated but the option wasn't said nicely or kindly presented to me - I still had to go through Hotels.com to get the refund processed.
Because it was independence day, all the area hotels that accept dogs were sold out, and we could either go 40 mins north or south for a hotel, and of course they were all over-priced due to the holiday. Really very inconvenient to have a last-minute cancellation because they couldn't accommodate us, for that I am so disappointed in this property.
However, I did notice that the photos are WAY nicer than the actual property, and I am glad I know that now because I would not prefer to book here if there was a choice. So, bravo to the hotel photographer but shame that it's not totally accurate. If you do book here, the rooms at the top of the property (the rooms in the 300's and 400's) don't have a great view and seem kind of sketchy.
One positive: We did forget a toiletry kit which they kept safe for us to pick up the following day, and for that I am thankful. less
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review
I'm sorry you did not have a good experience at our hotel. I feel it is important to let you know that the 3rd party that you booked with (hotels.com) did not pass any information about you having an injury or even that you had pets. Due to the fact that is was 4th of July weekend we were sold out so our options for a room transfer were severely limited. I would like to suggest booking an ADA accessible room if you have any sort of mobility issue this will ensure you easy access to your room. On a more positive note I'm glad you were able to pick up your toiletry kit that was left behind.
All the best,
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Royal Oak