• 8.6 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel.

Built over 400 years ago, the award winning Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character.

Whether you are dining in the 1610 Steak Restaurant, our own onsite Jacobean Pub or having afternoon tea you can be assured that you'll feel like you never left home.

We are ideally located in the quiet countryside, away from the bright city lights and the hustle and bustle, yet close enough to major road links such as the M62 and A1 for ease of access.

We offer complimentary car parking, fast and reliable high speed Wi-Fi and an exclusive residents only Lounge Bar.

All of our bedrooms have fully interactive TVs and comfortable memory foam mattresses, as well as the luxury items that you associate with a Best Western Plus hotel.

Having won numerous awards for both the hotel and gardens alike, our quality is assured.

Owned and operated on a daily basis by Richard Metcalfe and his dedicated team.

View more

Location

Thorpe Lane
Badsworth

Pontefract
West Yorkshire
WF9 1AB
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6138*

Summary

Event noise possible on a weekend
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only.
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 10:30

Facilities

Dining and Bars

We have consistently produced a high level of cuisine, which has resulted in various awards being accredited to the hotel. Our ethos will always be to provide great Yorkshire fayre from local suppliers.

Chef Paul Farnham

rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-dining-40-83653

The Jacobean Pub

Our on site Pub makes this hotel a great place to be, it's like staying at you Local Pub with a bed. We serve a selection of bottled ales and lagers and have a great choice of Home Made Food. We also show a full Sky Sports listing and even have a pub quiz every Tuesday.
We serve our extensive Menu all day Monday Saturday from 12pm until 9.30pm and our Sunday Carvery is served from 12pm until 8pm.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:45 - 09:45
Lunch: 12:00 - 16:00
Dinner: 16:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-dining-39-83653

1610 Steak Restaurant

Opened in 2010, this Oak Panelled room offers a full dining menu with weekend specials and local produce. Open Fridays from 5pm until 8.30pm and Saturdays from 6.30pm until 8.30pm, bookings are necessary. Closed Sunday to Thursday.

Opening hours

Dinner: 17:00 - 20:30
Weekend times may vary
rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-dining-28-83653

Oak room

Our Ornate Oak Room is the ideal setting for Traditional Afternoon Tea.
Served on Saturdays from 12pm until 3pm, priced from just £14.95 per person.

Available for private parties also whether you're looking to host a birthday party, christening, anniversary or just a afternoon treat, our Afternoon Tea is a treat for the whole family.
Advance booking and payment is essential, we can also cater for a variety of dietary requirements.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12:00 - 03:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Pontefract

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 7200 Yards
Handicap required

Location

4 miles away in Pontefract

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £28.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £16.00

Mid Yorkshire

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 6625 Yards
Handicap required

Location

4 miles away in Darrington

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £10.00
Driving Range £4.00

Weddings

The Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel will be the perfect choice for your wedding day. With the flexibility of the Lawrence or Cawthorne Ballrooms or the more intimate Rose Room to choose from.

Our packages are designed to minimise the worry of working out the costs of your wedding. However, if you would prefer, we would be happy to quote for any ideas that you may have for your special day.

rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-wedding-events-20-83653rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-wedding-events-21-83653

Wedding Service and Reception Venue

We are pleased to announce that you are able to perform your Wedding Ceremony, Civil Partnerships and Renewal of Vows in our Historic Building or our Garden Temple.

Catering

Depending on the size of your Wedding, the Cawthorne & Lawrence Ballrooms each hold up to 100 day guests for a Civil Ceremony followed by a traditional Wedding meal and up to 180 evening guests (depending on your evening entertainment). We have the availability of extending up to 200 day guests and 300 evening guests utilising both Ballrooms. The Rose Room holds up to 28 guests for your Ceremony and Wedding Meal.

Pamper Packages

We offer pamper packages that are perfect for birthdays, hen parties or just a girly get together...

Registrar

Registry office:
Pontefract Registry Office
Charter Mark Logo Town Hall Pontefract WF8 1PG
01977 722670




Please contact our dedicated Wedding Coordinator on 01977 643839.
Why not just call to make an appointment to have a look around and discuss all the options to make your day very special.

For any enquiries please call Karen Hunter & Nicola Farnham on 01977 643839

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type WF9 1AB

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M62, J32, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Pontefract, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: Robin Hood Doncaster, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (160 spaces)

Address
Thorpe Lane
Badsworth
Pontefract
West Yorkshire
WF9 1AB
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Doncaster Rovers (10 miles)

  • Leeds United FC (15 miles)

  • Castleford Tigers RLFC (7 miles)

  • Pontefract Racecourse (3 miles)

  • Doncaster Racecourse (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Nostel Priory (5 miles)

  • Xscape Leisure Complex (5 miles)

  • Pontefract Castle (3 miles)

  • Yorkshire Wildlift Park (7 miles)

Shopping

  • Junction 32 Shopping Outlet (5 miles) (5 miles)

  • Leeds City Centre (5 miles) (5 miles)

  • Meadowhall, Sheffield (22 miles) (22 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our largest meeting room can cater for up to 250 people. Due to the fantastic location of our hotel and the huge free car park we tend to attract large business conferences, some of which take place over two days, giving delegates more chance to enjoy the delightful setting.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Cawthorne 120 64 36 40 120
Rose 25 17 18 20 0
Oak 30 25 0 20 0
Lawrence 120 64 36 40 120
Boardroom 0 0 0 8 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 441 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 260
Rating: 4 98
Rating: 3 44
Rating: 2 20
Rating: 1 19
Rating

17th June

21/06/2017 Sapphire S,

We stayed here on Saturday for a wedding. Upon arrival Rogerthorpe seemed to be great until it came to checking in. The facilities for a family with a baby are actually terrible to say we are living i... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your stay with us whilst attending a Wedding Reception, I appreciate the time you took to write this. As a grade 2 Listed historical property unfortunately we are unable to provide lifts. We do have bedrooms with en-suite baths which can certainly be requested upon making your reservation, this is generally made upon request as all our guests have different preferences. In terms of Air Conditioning the units have just had their by-monthly check, and no other concerns have been show by any other guests during their stay? I can only apologise for this and I am sorry it did not meet your expectations. With regards to the baby changing facilities we will certainly look into this as an option for our guests however this is not something we have been asked for in the past. I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding Breakfast and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed it, I will certainly pass your comments on to our Chef. You will note that we pride ourselves in providing a memorable stay and the reviews do reflect this, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards Kerry Donnell Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Wedding

18/06/2017 , Doncaster, United Kingdom

Went here for a wedding 17th June 2017. • no lifts in the building which is very inconvenient when you are taking travel cots, prams, babies and luggage upstairs. • food was bang average not the wor... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your wedding and stay at the hotel I appreciate the time you took to write this. As a grade 2 Listed historical property we are unable to provide lifts, as a resident you were able to put any food purchased or drinks purchased directly onto your bedroom account and this could have avoided any cash being required. In terms of Air Conditioning, all our bedrooms are supplied with these faculties and have just had their by-monthly check, it maybe that the settings were not correctly pressed as no other concerns have been show by any other guests during their stay? You will note that we pride ourselves and providing a memorial stay and the reviews before this subscribe to that, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards Kerry Donnell Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Wedding - 18th June 2016

13/06/2017 ScottyRach,

My husband and I got married at this wonderful hotel last year. The staff, from the waiters and waitresses to the bar staff couldn't do enough for us, especially Karen who coordinated our wedding for ... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your wedding and I appreciate the time you took to write this. Thank you for your kind words and we’re glad you’ve made some great memories. We appreciate your honest review and are extremely happy your day went as planned. We’re delighted to hear you and all your guests enjoyed all aspects of your day and that we were able to provide you with great food, great service and an overall perfect day. It is lovely to hear that you kindly recommended us and continue to do so to your friends and family. Thank you once again and would like to wish you a very Happy 1st Wedding Anniversary, we hope to see you again very soon. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards Kerry Donnell Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Excellent Hotel

01/06/2017 Rachel T,

I held my wedding here last Friday (26th May) and I had the most amazing day. All the staff we so helpful especially Karen, my wedding coordinator. She organised everything I asked for and was with m... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your Wedding Day and offer a huge congratulations from all the team, I appreciate the time you took to write it. Your review was a pleasure to read and I'm more than happy to see your Wedding Day was everything you dreamed of and your guests enjoyed themselves too. I will surely pass on your kind words to Karen who I am sure will be over the moon with the feedback that she was able to make your big day so special. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel as Mr & Mrs and from the whole team would like to wish you all the best for the future. Kindest Regards Kerry Donnell Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

No sleep allowed

29/05/2017 Irishblondie2010, Ipswich, United Kingdom

We had a lovely air conditioned room, very clean with a quirky set up. Bathroom with a powerful shower, lovely towels and a little blue light beside the loo! great to find in the dark. We were so look... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and I appreciate the time you took to write it. I am so sorry to read that you did not have a comfortable nights sleep, had we been made aware on the day we would have done our very best to fix this problem for you. Unfortunately as we don't have any details provided of the date or name of the stay I am unable to look into this in more detail. However I can assure you that we do inform our guests of noise for all our bookings either by phone call or email and we do have details on our website regarding possible noise on peak nights. I can only apologise that your email did not reach you, we do work very hard to ensure each and every guest is aware of this. I do appreciate your kind comments regarding the Hotels beautiful setting and I do hope you will consider revisiting us in the future. On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01977 643839. Kindest Regards Kerry Donnell Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel