• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel.

Built over 400 years ago, the award winning Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character.

Whether you are dining in the 1610 Steak Restaurant, our own onsite Jacobean Pub or having afternoon tea you can be assured that you'll feel like you never left home.

We are ideally located in the quiet countryside, away from the bright city lights and the hustle and bustle, yet close enough to major road links such as the M62 and A1 for ease of access.

We offer complimentary car parking, fast and reliable high speed Wi-Fi and an exclusive residents only Lounge Bar.

All of our bedrooms have fully interactive TVs and comfortable memory foam mattresses, as well as the luxury items that you associate with a Best Western Plus hotel.

Having won numerous awards for both the hotel and gardens alike, our quality is assured.

Owned and operated on a daily basis by Richard Metcalfe and his dedicated team.

View more

Location

Thorpe Lane
Badsworth

Pontefract
West Yorkshire
WF9 1AB
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6138*

Summary

Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only.
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 10:30

Facilities

Dining and Bars

We have consistently produced a high level of cuisine, which has resulted in various awards being accredited to the hotel. Our ethos will always be to provide great Yorkshire fayre from local suppliers.

Chef Paul Farnham

rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-dining-35-83653

The Jacobean Pub

Our on site Pub makes this hotel a great place to be, it's like staying at you Local Pub with a bed. We serve a selection of bottled ales and lagers and have a great choice of Home Made Food. We also show a full Sky Sports listing.
We serve our extensive Menu all day Monday Saturday from 12pm until 9.30pm and our Sunday Carvery is served from 12pm until 8pm.

Traditional Afternoon Tea is served every Saturday 12pm - 3pm for £14.95 per person. Booking is required.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:45 - 09:45
Lunch: 12:00 - 16:00
Dinner: 16:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Pontefract

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 7200 Yards
Handicap required

Location

4 miles away in Pontefract

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £28.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £16.00

Mid Yorkshire

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 6625 Yards
Handicap required

Location

4 miles away in Darrington

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £10.00
Driving Range £4.00

Weddings

The Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel will be the perfect choice for your wedding day. With the flexibility of the Lawrence or Cawthorne Ballrooms or the more intimate Rose Room to choose from.

Our packages are designed to minimise the worry of working out the costs of your wedding. However, if you would prefer, we would be happy to quote for any ideas that you may have for your special day.

rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-wedding-events-11-83653rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-wedding-events-12-83653

Wedding Service and Reception Venue

We are pleased to announce that you are able to perform your Wedding Ceremony, Civil Partnerships and Renewal of Vows in our Historic Building or our Garden Temple.

Catering

Depending on the size of your Wedding, the Cawthorne & Lawrence Ballrooms each hold up to 100 day guests for a Civil Ceremony followed by a traditional Wedding meal and up to 180 evening guests (depending on your evening entertainment). We have the availability of extending up to 200 day guests and 300 evening guests utilising both Ballrooms. The Rose Room holds up to 28 guests for your Ceremony and Wedding Meal.

Pamper Packages

We offer pamper packages that are perfect for birthdays, hen parties or just a girly get together...

Registrar

Registry office:
Pontefract Registry Office
Charter Mark Logo Town Hall Pontefract WF8 1PG
01977 722670




Please contact our dedicated Wedding Coordinator on 01977 643839.
Why not just call to make an appointment to have a look around and discuss all the options to make your day very special.

For any enquiries please call Karen Hunter & Nicola Farnham on 01977 643839

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type WF9 1AB

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M62, J32, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Pontefract, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: Robin Hood Doncaster, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (160 spaces)

Address
Thorpe Lane
Badsworth
Pontefract
West Yorkshire
WF9 1AB
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Doncaster Rovers (10 miles)

  • Leeds United FC (15 miles)

  • Castleford Tigers RLFC (7 miles)

  • Pontefract Racecourse (3 miles)

  • Doncaster Racecourse (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Nostel Priory (5 miles)

  • Xscape Leisure Complex (5 miles)

  • Pontefract Castle (3 miles)

  • Yorkshire Wildlift Park (7 miles)

Shopping

  • Junction 32 Shopping Outlet (5 miles) (5 miles)

  • Leeds City Centre (5 miles) (5 miles)

  • Meadowhall, Sheffield (22 miles) (22 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our largest meeting room can cater for up to 250 people. Due to the fantastic location of our hotel and the huge free car park we tend to attract large business conferences, some of which take place over two days, giving delegates more chance to enjoy the delightful setting.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Cawthorne 120 64 36 40 120
Rose 25 17 18 20 0
Oak 30 25 0 20 0
Lawrence 120 64 36 40 120
Boardroom 0 0 0 8 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 508 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 307
Rating: 4 106
Rating: 3 51
Rating: 2 23
Rating: 1 21
Rating

Wedding Reception "Amazing"

14/06/2018 749kate, Grantham, United Kingdom

Just been to a Wedding Reception last week at the Rogerthorpe Badsworth. The rooms where lovely and very comfortable. The staff very friendly and professional. The MC on the day was absolutely fantast... more

Rating

Friends wedding

11/06/2018 sunbird41, Doncaster, United Kingdom

Went to a friends wedding what a beautiful place ! The grounds were lovely as was the room for the cermony , the wedding meal again very nice food lovely and hot with excellent service. As they was ov... more

Rating

Daughters wedding.

29/05/2018 Pennysnave1,

Fabulous from start to finish. We stayed here the night before the wedding, ate in the Jacobean Pub and were residents ie. Bride and Mum in the Bridal Suite....what a stunning room, spacious, on two f... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your daughters Wedding Day and I appreciate the time you took to write this. Your review is a pleasure to read and I am delighted that we were able to make your daughters Wedding such a memorable and special day for you all. I am also delighted that you were very happy with your overnight experience and were very happy with the service provided by Karen our Wedding Manager she will be so pleased with your comments. It sounds like you had such a great experience has a whole which is fantastic. I do hope we have the opportunity to meet you in the near future. Finally please pass on a huge congratulations on behalf of all the team to the newlyweds. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards Kerry Cooke Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Wedding weekend

21/05/2018 chrishey147, Leeds, United Kingdom

Fantastic location, full of charm, good food, crap beds!, 150 pound per night to sleep on plywood, tiny bathroom with poor lighting needs investment. never had a good experience with Best Western . On... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent visit and I appreciate the time you took to write this. I am delighted that you were impressed by our stunning location and delicious food. I am very sorry that you were not happy with the standard of the bed, all of our rooms are provided with high standard memory foam mattresses. All of the Best Western hotels are individually owned and our endless reviews do reflect the standard of our hotel. We do provide a tiered selection of rooms as you would expect form any establishment, some of the Classic rooms are compromised with their position due to the historic building. We do advise guests to book directly with the Hotel to get the best available rate rather than a booking agent. Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you will consider joining us again in the future to allow us to exceed your expectations on a second visit. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards Kerry Cooke Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Ordinary Food

18/05/2018 David M, Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom

Good standard of accommodation - air conditioning, excellent showeroom - spoilt by ordinary poorly cooked 'Pub Grub' not in keeping with rest of hotel. Poor lighting in in first class showeroom meant ... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent visit and I appreciate the time you took to write this. Thank you for your kind words and I'm happy to hear you found the room you stayed in to be of a good standard, I do apologise you were unhappy with the lighting. I'm extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal, this is extremely unusual as we have nothing but glowing comments regarding all our dining experiences and as you can see our reviews do reflect this. If you wish to elaborate further by email I would be more than happy to look into this for you as your comments are very important to us. Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards Kerry Cooke Marketing & Customer Service Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel