• 8.6 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select

Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel.

Built over 400 years ago, the award winning Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character.

Whether you are dining in the 1610 Steak Restaurant, our own onsite Jacobean Pub or having afternoon tea you can be assured that you'll feel like you never left home.

We are ideally located in the quiet countryside, away from the bright city lights and the hustle and bustle, yet close enough to major road links such as the M62 and A1 for ease of access.

We offer complimentary car parking, fast and reliable high speed Wi-Fi and an exclusive residents only Lounge Bar.

All of our bedrooms have fully interactive TVs and comfortable memory foam mattresses, as well as the luxury items that you associate with a Best Western Plus hotel.

Having won numerous awards for both the hotel and gardens alike, our quality is assured.

Owned and operated on a daily basis by Richard Metcalfe and his dedicated team.

View more

Location

Thorpe Lane
Badsworth

Pontefract
West Yorkshire
WF9 1AB
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6138*

Summary

Event noise possible on a weekend
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only.
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 10:30

Facilities

Dining and Bars

We have consistently produced a high level of cuisine, which has resulted in various awards being accredited to the hotel. Our ethos will always be to provide great Yorkshire fayre from local suppliers.

Chef Paul Farnham

rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-dining-40-83653

The Jacobean Pub

Our on site Pub makes this hotel a great place to be, it's like staying at you Local Pub with a bed. We serve a selection of bottled ales and lagers and have a great choice of Home Made Food. We also show a full Sky Sports listing and even have a pub quiz every Tuesday.
We serve our extensive Menu all day Monday Saturday from 12pm until 9.30pm and our Sunday Carvery is served from 12pm until 8pm.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:45 - 09:45
Lunch: 12:00 - 16:00
Dinner: 16:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-dining-39-83653

1610 Steak Restaurant

Opened in 2010, this Oak Panelled room offers a full dining menu with weekend specials and local produce. Open Fridays from 5pm until 8.30pm and Saturdays from 6.30pm until 8.30pm, bookings are necessary. Closed Sunday to Thursday.

Opening hours

Dinner: 17:00 - 20:30
Weekend times may vary
rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-dining-28-83653

Oak room

Our Ornate Oak Room is the ideal setting for Traditional Afternoon Tea.
Served on Saturdays from 12pm until 3pm, priced from just £14.95 per person.

Available for private parties also whether you're looking to host a birthday party, christening, anniversary or just a afternoon treat, our Afternoon Tea is a treat for the whole family.
Advance booking and payment is essential, we can also cater for a variety of dietary requirements.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12:00 - 03:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Pontefract

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 7200 Yards
Handicap required

Location

4 miles away in Pontefract

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £28.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £16.00

Mid Yorkshire

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 6625 Yards
Handicap required

Location

4 miles away in Darrington

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £10.00
Driving Range £4.00

Weddings

The Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel will be the perfect choice for your wedding day. With the flexibility of the Lawrence or Cawthorne Ballrooms or the more intimate Rose Room to choose from.

Our packages are designed to minimise the worry of working out the costs of your wedding. However, if you would prefer, we would be happy to quote for any ideas that you may have for your special day.

rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-wedding-events-20-83653rogerthorpe-manor-hotel-wedding-events-21-83653

Wedding Service and Reception Venue

We are pleased to announce that you are able to perform your Wedding Ceremony, Civil Partnerships and Renewal of Vows in our Historic Building or our Garden Temple.

Catering

Depending on the size of your Wedding, the Cawthorne & Lawrence Ballrooms each hold up to 100 day guests for a Civil Ceremony followed by a traditional Wedding meal and up to 180 evening guests (depending on your evening entertainment). We have the availability of extending up to 200 day guests and 300 evening guests utilising both Ballrooms. The Rose Room holds up to 28 guests for your Ceremony and Wedding Meal.

Pamper Packages

We offer pamper packages that are perfect for birthdays, hen parties or just a girly get together...

Registrar

Registry office:
Pontefract Registry Office
Charter Mark Logo Town Hall Pontefract WF8 1PG
01977 722670




Please contact our dedicated Wedding Coordinator on 01977 643839.
Why not just call to make an appointment to have a look around and discuss all the options to make your day very special.

For any enquiries please call Karen Hunter & Nicola Farnham on 01977 643839

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type WF9 1AB

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M62, J32, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Pontefract, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: Robin Hood Doncaster, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (160 spaces)

Address
Thorpe Lane
Badsworth
Pontefract
West Yorkshire
WF9 1AB
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Doncaster Rovers (10 miles)

  • Leeds United FC (15 miles)

  • Castleford Tigers RLFC (7 miles)

  • Pontefract Racecourse (3 miles)

  • Doncaster Racecourse (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Nostel Priory (5 miles)

  • Xscape Leisure Complex (5 miles)

  • Pontefract Castle (3 miles)

  • Yorkshire Wildlift Park (7 miles)

Shopping

  • Junction 32 Shopping Outlet (5 miles) (5 miles)

  • Leeds City Centre (5 miles) (5 miles)

  • Meadowhall, Sheffield (22 miles) (22 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our largest meeting room can cater for up to 250 people. Due to the fantastic location of our hotel and the huge free car park we tend to attract large business conferences, some of which take place over two days, giving delegates more chance to enjoy the delightful setting.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Cawthorne 120 64 36 40 120
Rose 25 17 18 20 0
Oak 30 25 0 20 0
Lawrence 120 64 36 40 120
Boardroom 0 0 0 8 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 423 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 248
Rating: 4 95
Rating: 3 44
Rating: 2 18
Rating: 1 18
Rating

Wedding!

26/02/2017 LaurenDean10, Derby, United Kingdom

Upon arrival the the hotel we was greeted by a very friendly accommodating receptionist, who very kindly pulled out all the stops to get our room ready before we left to attend a Wedding not far from ... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and I appreciate the time you took to write it. I’m happy to read our receptionist was able to get you into your room earlier than expected, we do always try to go above and beyond for our guests and on this occasion I can see it was achieved. However I am sorry to read that you did not have a comfortable nights sleep but as you have rightly mentioned this is a personal preference and unfortunately we can not always get it right for everyone. I will have this mattress investigated and checked for any issues, if we find the mattress to be unacceptable as per your review we will replace it if needed. Thank you again and we hope you will come back again soon. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards, Sarah Darnbrough Guest Relations Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Our wedding

24/02/2017 Karen G,

Well what can I say... wow wow wow. I love this place.. the staff did everything they could do make our wedding special. The grounds are amazing. Stayed in suite 16 it is amazing.. we have stayed many... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your wedding and I appreciate the time you took to write this. Thank you for your kind words and I’m glad to hear that we have made you wedding day one to remember and you have enjoyed the various bedrooms we have on offer too. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your 1st year anniversary. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards. Sarah Darnbrough Guest Relations Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

wedding venue

20/02/2017 tony s, Doncaster, United Kingdom

An ideal wedding venue' excellent facilities' picturesque hotel and surroundings' Very clean and comfortable rooms' superb breakfast' Can not fault at all' thank you' Room 29 had everything you need ... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and I appreciate the time you took to write it. Your review is a pleasure to read and I’m more than happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel and the bedroom. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards, Sarah Darnbrough Guest Relations Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Room a disappointment

19/02/2017 richardgibbs72, Doncaster, United Kingdom

We recently stayed for my sisters wedding and the family room we had booked ended up being a very small double room and having the put up bed in there made the room too small to get round. The room wa... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and I appreciate the time you took to write it. I’m sorry to read of your discomfort however because we are a small hotel we do have very limited family bedrooms on offer, the rooms we can fit extra camping beds in are not designed for this due to the shape and size of each hotel room and therefore when extra beds are requested they do then suffer on available floor space. I am sorry you felt this was unacceptable and we do try to offer guests the best rooms possible but we cannot extend our rooms and we have to use what we have available for the family room demand. Our housekeepers have checked the bed in question and we have replaced this due to the missing slat, thank you for bringing this to our attention and I understand compensation for this was offered upon check out. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will visit us again in the future. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards, Sarah Darnbrough Guest Relations Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Rating

Valentines

15/02/2017 thornton3645,

Absolutely amazing!!! Stayed in suite 19 which is used for the pyjama party's. superb from start to finish. Finished to a high standard and is everything you could dream of. Love it that much we've bo... more

Owner Response
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and I appreciate the time you took to write it. I’m happy to see that you had a great stay and enjoyed staying in one of our Superior Suites, it’s always a pleasure to read lovely reviews like yours. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your Birthday. If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel. Kindest Regards, Sarah Darnbrough Guest Relations Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel