Over priced and average.
Exceptionally over priced, poor customer service, inflexible, out to 'upswell' on everything, below average decor and low grade food. I was charged £125 for one for the 'privilege' of staying at this hotel for 1 night I would suggest a maximum rate of £60 for 2 people, is more in line with the grade of the hotel and what they offer.
Whilst I use the services of tripadviser regularly, I am not in the habit of writing reviews, however after my recent, below average, over priced experience of Rogerthorpe Manor I felt the need to share my experience as it is wrong that hotels should be allowed to take advantage of their customers by charging exorbitant rates whilst offering a such poor quality experience.
Firstly I chose to book through booking.com as to book through the hotel would require payment in full and up front, no matter how far in advance you book. In my 12 years of travelling the world I have only ever once had to pay for a hotel room upfront -my first experience of this turned out to be an exceptionally poor hostel in my early days of travel. For me any company which charges their customers for services upfront suggests a lack of confidence in the customer experience they are planning to provide, and is certainly not in character for the type of hotel Rogerthorpe promote themselves as, retrospectively I should have taken heed and booked elsewhere.
Secondly, check in is at 3:30pm. As I was attending a wedding in the area, I rang the hotel to enquire as to whether or not the room would be available earlier for me to get ready in. Again, something I have often asked of a hotel in the past and all other hotels have offered the room early should it be available. There was no mention of this when I rang, only that if I wanted to check in early I would need to pay an additional charge.
Given I was already paying £125 for one night, single occupancy, I was not prepared to pay additional cost, and ended up getting ready at the hotel where the wedding was - The Wentbridge, and where I very sadly was unable to get a room, due to full occupancy. For the same same price I would highly recommend staying here should you have a choice, customer service, food and rooms far surpassed Rogerthorpe.
Thirdly, the room I stayed in was of very average decor, the bed small, ok for 1 but would be very tight for 2, had a minimal view, and the view there was, was blocked by film on the window and the lighting was atrocious. Whilst appreciating the hotel have consciously gone down the sustainable and cost saving route by installing LED lighting, it is all flourescent in tone and creates a 'cheap' and harsh effect throughout, is horrendously bright and does not allow you to dim or tone down the lighting in the bedroom or bathroom. Opting for warm LED fittings, it won't improve the decor, but it will help with the ambience And light levels.
Arriving back late from my evening out, I was looking forward to a lie in, unfortunately I was awoken by what sounded like drilling at 7am on a Sunday morning. When I mentioned this to the staff, they looked at me blankly and said well there are no workers on site, thenoise must have been another guest. Staff were unapologetic or willing to take any responsibility for me being awoken by noise on site, again not the response I was expecting from the type of hotel Rogerthrope are parading to be.
As I was at the back of the hotel, had I still been asleep at 9am i certainly wouldn't be any more as the bottles from the previous night get disposed of from 9am making an almighty racket! Again unthoughtful and ill considered.
There are no mobile phone chargers on site should you need to borrow one, not even one you could plug your phone into at reception. Apparently they 'can't trust their customers with spare chargers.'
Finally Apparently booking on a third party website means Breakfast is not included, even though booking direct it is. As I had especially not gone direct because I didn't agree with their upfront payment policy, I don't feel I should be penalised. Again apparently this is something I should have known and apparently 'no fault of the hotel' although I would expect the hotel to monitor what their third party suppliers are doing and take responsibility for this. For £125 a night in the middle of Yorkshire, one would expect breakfast and a very good one at that. It was not included, and was not offered to be included even when I raised it with staff. Irrespective that adding breakfast into my stay was an impossibility according to staff, I note that the breakfast was of poor, banquest style standard. Again neither of these things should be expected from a hotel with such high rates. And certainly was not the experience at the Wentbridge up the road, where a full continental spread and made to order breakfast was served.
Overall a very poor and over priced experience. I would not recommend staying here for any purpose. less
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review
I would firstly like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and I appreciate the time you took to write it.
I am sorry to hear that you have found your stay to be less than satisfactory, however because you chose to book online you will be subject to higher prices due to booking agent costs and fees, we find our hotel to be competitively priced for the area and standard. Being a small hotel we do not employee large numbers of housekeeping staff, this in turn means we have to give extra time to service the hotel to the highest standards possible, we do, as you mentioned, offer an early check-in service but this is at an additional cost to cover extra staff and to ensure the room is serviced on time. We can not unfortunately guarantee any rooms are ready before 3pm due to the fact that they have to be serviced after check-out and we need to allow time for bridal suites to be ready first and to ensure they are all serviced within the hotels requirements. Reception do try and check guests in as soon as the rooms are ready but this is more often than not until the stated 3pm check in time and we can not give an estimated time prior to the day.
Thank you for your other comments and I appreciate the time you have taken to raise them, we will be using your feedback to improve our services in the future and for future guests.
Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future to provide you with a far superior experience.
If I can be of any further assistance then please feel to contact me at the Hotel.
Guest Relations Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel