Being right is not always right.
I’ll start this review by focusing on the positive side of this property.
The hotel has just gone through a renovation, and it looks great. From the front doors all through the corridors and into the rooms, the update is quite stunning.
Unfortunately, it seems the upgrades have gone to their head.
The difficulty starts outside with the signage, quite simply it’s non existent. No Best Western sign, no
Prestige sign. No sign at all. This makes finding it at night quite difficult. We actually drove around the building and then guessed (correctly) that it was the right place.
We were greeted cordially at the front desk and proceeded to check in. Because we had brought our furry friend, when I booked online I was quite certain that because the room I selected was “pet friendly” and to my recollection more expensive than a non pet friendly room of the same size, when we were given the pet agreement and advised there would be an additional $30 per night, I expressed my concern. The attendant advised that the charge was not included in the room charge and was extra to cover things like “deep cleaning” Because it was late and we were tired after our trip from Calgary, I advised the attendant that we would worry about it later and signed the pet agreement.
Getting to our room, we were concerned as according to the pet agreement the extra charges were a “pampered pet” charge and included “creature comforts: a dog bed, food and water bowls and some waste disposal bags” There were none of these things.
After settling in, I returned to the attendant and pointed out that none of these things were present in our room. She looked at me in confusion and said “we assume you will bring these things with you, but if you need them I can get them for you.”
After this exchange, and at various times throughout the next day when I had time, I checked both the Best Western site as well as Trip Advisor to see if I could recreate the same pricing I had seen when I booked our room, without success. Later in the evening, I was sitting in the lounge area when I was approached by the same attendant who proceeded to show me a printed page of the Best Western site that she used to try to demonstrate how I was wrong about the room charge. I informed her that I also had tried to do same. She replied that seeing the same pricing was “impossible” as rates change depending on days booked and availability. I informed her that I was able to recreate the same room rate on the Best Western site, but that I may have been confused as the rates shown on Trip Advisor were so much cheaper. Her reply was to indicate that’s “too bad” but these were the rates on the Best Western site. I began walking away in order to prevent the discussion from getting heated and responded that what she said was a “terrible thing” to say.
Now, full disclosure, I couldn’t recreate the same scenario on the site as when I booked, but I am convinced that I saw two different rates for the same room (king kitchenet) with the pet friendly room being a higher price. Whether I saw this on the Best Western site or the Trip Advisor site, I can’t say. My biggest issue is with the attitude of the attendant. While it was natural for me to conduct my own research into the issue, the fact that she did so as well is concerning. Then to approach me to prove herself right is completely unprofessional. A note to management, you should advise your staff to refer guests to you when there is an issue like this. While you can’t teach empathy, you should hire it. An attendants chief job should be to be empathetic to the guests. Proving an issue or arguing a point should be left up to decision makers. Also, attendants shouldn’t go looking for a fight. Just because you’re “right” that doesn’t make it right.
One other note, the attendant said the extra charge was for “deep” cleaning. The room directly across from ours also had a furry friend, and they checked out before us, and no special cleaning appears to have taken place.
In closing, for the rate charged ($569 for 3 nights), no breakfast and extraordinary attitude, I would recommend any other place in Radium. It’s not Banff after all
Oh, and be aware, there is no coffee or tea in the rooms. less
Trevor C, General Manager at Prestige Radium Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. First, I would like to thank you for the comments regarding our recent renovations. That being said, I would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you had encountered during your stay. You have pointed some valid learning points in which I will be sharing with my team as well as providing feedback to the restaurant and lounge teams. I do hope you will reconsider and come back and try us out again on your next trip to our beautiful area.