Avoid at all costs
This hotel is way below standard of a 4 star hotel, our first night we pulled back the bedsheets to discover hair all over the bed, the deputy manager came up and changed straight away but I would not... more
This hotel is way below standard of a 4 star hotel, our first night we pulled back the bedsheets to discover hair all over the bed, the deputy manager came up and changed straight away but I would not expect this at the apparent standard of a 4 star, first night was noisy, wedding was on which is not really highlighted on the website.
We had dinner on our first night which was documented as alcarte- it was not- chips were frozen, with some actually still hard and cold in the middle.
Breakfast - good choice but again food was cold, we were served cold coffee and the eggs were undercooked.
Night two was by far the worst a wedding that was on had the music on so loud the whole room vibrated for hours, I called down to reception several times and spoke to another manager who did absolutely nothing, I also spoke to a staff member called Lesley who was patronising and put the phone down, when I called back to ask why she had put the phone down I was told to get on with it as it was a wedding so basically it wasn’t her problem we couldn’t sleep. Lucky for us it was only a weekend away so the 3 hours sleep we got over 2 nights wasn’t much of issue, however if I was flying the next day I would of been absolutely disgusted with the lack of care for guests that weren’t at the weddings!! Part of the hotel was actually blocked off and not able to be used during the day due to one of the weddings also so no consideration for other guests. The hotel is not worth the money or the 4 stars it’s been given! Avoid at all costs unless you want to rave into the night with the wedding guests!! less
Rob Nicholson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pinewood Hotel on Wilmslow, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at the Pinewood and I will do my utmost to respond to you based upon the information that you have given and my follow up with the team.
Firstly, I can acknowledge that there was indeed an issue with the linen on your bed on the Friday evening which was promptly resolved; my apologies that this happened in the first place and we are in the process of discussing this with our external linen provider and our team.
Regarding your dining experiences; If we had been informed of your dissatisfaction at the time of dining we would have addressed any issues you had. I can assure you that we do not use frozen chips, our chips are prepared fresh on a daily basis and quality checked prior to being served. The temperature of all food is checked prior to going out on our breakfast buffet; if there was the chance that it had not been and we were to be made aware of a temperature issue with the food then we would have addressed it immediately and replaced; however, we did not receive any negative feedback across the weekend regarding this.
With regards to your own room in terms of location, the room which you were staying in is located above the kitchen. On the Friday evening we only had one event taking place in the hotel, this was on the opposite side of the building from the room in which you were staying. On the Saturday we had 1 wedding taking place which was again on the opposite side of the hotel. We did have a small family celebration in a function room located on the side of the hotel in which you were accommodated. I am aware that a member of the management team did come to your room to see how he could assist with regards to the noise that you were experiencing but he was duly dismissed by yourself. In addition, the offer of a room swap was given which was also duly dismissed. We do work with our clients holding such events and our guests to ensure that noise levels are kept to a reasonable level for everyone’s comfort and enjoyment; the party hosts were approached and asked to reduce their music sound level for your satisfaction of which they did do so, as we did not receive any complaints from other guests the action taken was deemed satisfactory. Whilst an alternative option was offered to yourself from Lesley on Reception, when this was refused unfortunately Lesley did not have any further alternatives to offer as the hotel was almost full that evening; the only room being available was the room that was offered to you. I have spoken to Lesley and the senior Manager, Gabor, that tried to accommodate you on Saturday evening; I have been advised that whilst apologies were offered and the above actions were taken, there were no further options to provide since the request of an alternative room had been declined and they apologised to yourself on the occasions they spoke to you.