Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant

The Street, Bramber, Steyning, West Sussex, BN44 3WE, England
based on 905 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VB Gold CSR award from Green Tourism. Quality Award

Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant

Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant.

Take a well-earned break near Brighton.

Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant is perfectly located in the picturesque village of Bramber at the foot of the South Downs National Park and the Downs Link.

The hotel is
show more

Breakfast & Dinner will be available in our safe Dining Room or feel free to order Room Service if preferred
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to all floors, Restaurants
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00
The Street, Bramber, Steyning, West Sussex, BN44 3WE, England

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Jeff Hammerschlag
  • Hotel Restaurant
  • Bar

Dining and bars

Hotel Restaurant

The menu features the famous hors d'oeuvres cold table and hot starters, followed by the carvery style main course which includes casseroles, fish and vegetarian options in additional to the selection of roast meats. We also have hot and cold desserts and a selection of cheeses.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 06:30 - 09.30
Lunch: 12.00 - 14.00
Dinner: 18.00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary
Dining and bars

Bar

Our guest ale is locally brewed and well worth a try!

Opening hours
12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

The Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant is a very popular venue for weddings, civil ceremonies and partnerships. Our experienced team will guide you through the many preparations as the big day approaches, and take care of the finer details on the day itself.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Registrar

Wedding service and reception venue

From the Civil ceremony to the last dance, you can spend the entire day with us here in Bramber! The glorious countryside that surrounds the hotel will prove the perfect backdrop for the all important photos too!

Catering

Your wedding breakfast will normally begin with a welcome drinks reception and for that extra special touch, you can also treat your guests to a selection of our homemade canapes.

Registrar

Registry office:
Registration Services Manager
Edes House, West Street, Chichester PO19 1RQ
01243777439

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

  • Worthing GC
  • West Chiltington GC

Worthing GC

9 miles away in Worthing

Course information

  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Downland Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

71 & 66

Distance

6505 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes £30.00
18 holes £30.00
Buggy hire £22.00
Tuition Yes

West Chiltington GC

11 miles away in West Chiltington

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

5967 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes £15.00
18 holes £20.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Meetings & Events

We have several rooms ideal for conferences for a meeting from 2 delegates to 60 theatre style. We will cater to your individual requirements.

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

We have several rooms ideal for conferences for a meeting from 2 delegates to 60 theatre style. We will cater to your individual requirements.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Regency Room 60 30 26 26 30
Gate Room 30 12 12 14 16
Tackroom 12 4 8 10 10
Syn 106 & 206 12 4 8 10 0
Syn 110 & 210 6 2 4 6 0

Reviews of Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 905 reviews
Excellent 56%
Very Good 31%
Average 8%
Poor 2%
Terrible 0%
Rating

gillimot332, wrote review 16/09/2020

Mr Gill

Had a great experience at the Old Tollgate Hotel for an overnight stay. All staff were brilliant, positive, friendly, eager to help, extremely accommodating. The food was excellent, great range of cho... more

Rating

Richardsussex, wrote review 03/09/2020

The Old Tollgate has lost its shine

Having had a love affair with the hotel over many years as it was once famous for its extensive carvery offer and the quality of the food, I have been left very disappointed. Treated to a night in th... more

Owner Response
Maggie Parsons, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Richardsussex I would like to assure you that we do take all of our guests feedback seriously and I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent visit and that you did not like the ambience/ decor of The Old Tollgate. You will see reading the majority of our reviews that many guests love us and come back again and again.
Rating

TravelVictoriously, wrote review 02/09/2020

A Great Find

Stopped overnight at this hotel in a delightful village. The stay were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our assigned room was in the Westgate section and was clean and well decorated. The hotel had a... more

Owner Response
Maggie Parsons, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
Dear TravelVictoriously, thank you for your 5* reveiw - we really appreciate your feedback. I will look investigate the issue you experienced with the Wi Fi as we have a fully supported system and usually have excellent coverage throughout. kind regards
Rating

Alij1, wrote review 01/09/2020

A bad night with a good outcome.

We decided to treat ourselves and have a night away as we should have been on our honeymoon in Jamaica but due to covid19 had to postpone, so a night in a superior - double four poster room it was. T... more

Owner Response
Maggie Parsons, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you Alij1 for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that the night porter did not do more to assist you as the noise you heard is easily resolved. I am pleased that Jenny assisted you and ensured that you left happy. kind regards
Rating

Guest66CJ, wrote review 01/09/2020

Excellent staff

Stayed three nights. Room was large, clean and modern decor. I took photos of the bathroom for ideas for our bathroom refurb! Comfortable beds, huge TV. Plenty of parking. We had two evening meals an... more

Owner Response
Maggie Parsons, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest66CJ - thank you for choosing to stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback. I am delighted that you were well looked after and found the hotel to your liking. kind regards

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.