19/11/2018 Christina W, Lethbridge, Canada
The rooms were fine, the breakfast was good, but the customer service was awful. We called the day before our stay to see if could check in early and were told we could check in at 2. Upon arrival, th... more
The rooms were fine, the breakfast was good, but the customer service was awful. We called the day before our stay to see if could check in early and were told we could check in at 2. Upon arrival, the staff said that there would be a $30 fee for checking in before 3, even though our room was ready and sitting empty. The same thing happened to another family in our group. When I told the manager upon checkout there wasn't any apology or anything. We were there with a group (about 12 people) and we were told that we couldn't have any food in the breakfast area (it was about 7 pm), so we had to eat in the lobby on the couches and chairs next to the front desk. I'm sure that everyone that came in enjoyed seeing us sitting eating pizza in the lobby. I have never been to a hotel that cared so little for the comfort of their guests. It is very high priced for the quality of service that you receive. I would rather drive in from Calgary or High River than be treated that way. less
Barry H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Okotoks Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello, thank you for your recent stay & for letting us know your comments. As mentioned to you while you were in the hotel, and per your other media posts, we do our best to accommodate as many early check ins as possible, we only ask you call the day of arrival, and not the night before because of our high occupancy on weekends we get so many late check out requests, we don't know if we can accommodate both, so we won't know until the day of if we can accommodate your request.. Regarding your room, when you arrived over 2 hours before check in your room was not ready because of those checking out late, but yes we did have a room available, just not the one you requested which was a room specifically requesting 2 queen beds, but we did have one, and many hotels have adopted an early check in fee, so it is not un-common for hotels to charge the fee.
Also, as mentioned to you, because we do not have a restaurant, we do not have an F&B licence that allows for outside Food & beverages in our breakfast area. We are always pleased to offer to book you a meeting space ahead of time for your group of 12, so that we can form you what we can offer you in our meeting space and such, and what the limitations of our meeting space is, knowing ahead of time we are not permitted to allow outside Food & beverage in our meeting rooms. To ask the front desk at 5 pm on a Friday at the time of arrival for a meeting space is unreasonable because they don't have the capabilities to do so. When teams are booking the hotel, we have them sign on the group agreement if they want meeting space to let us know ahead of time, so everyone is informed. There was no indication you wanted a gathering area. Groups know well in advance when they are travelling together if they are planning a meal together, we just ask if that is what they want, please let us know in advance of arrival and we can certainly make those arrangements for you, so there is no inconvenience to you and the rest of your team. What other hotels do and how they manage the laws are up to them. We take great care and pride in the comfort of our guests, and we do our best to accommodate as many people as possible. We apologize if your group was inconvenienced.
Best of luck to you and your team in your future travels.