Great staff, great pool, terrible beds
05/02/2019 Athena D,
The hotel itself it nice enough, we enjoyed the pool, hot tub and sauna and loved that they had non-kid hours for the pool (10-midnight). Breakfast was OK, each day they ran out of many items and the... more
The hotel itself it nice enough, we enjoyed the pool, hot tub and sauna and loved that they had non-kid hours for the pool (10-midnight). Breakfast was OK, each day they ran out of many items and they were not replenished, one day with over an hour left and the other over 30 minutes left until breakfast was over. Be aware that breakfast ends at 9:30 at this hotel, that's pretty different from most others where they give you until 10. The staff were cheerful and helpful for the most part. They gave us recommendations for dinner as well as cross country skiing that were excellent.
The beds here are absolutely HORRIBLE! They are hard as a rock. The first night I woke up twice because my arms were going numb. I'm a side sleeper and whatever side I was laying on that arm would go numb and wake me up. The next night I propped myself up on 2 pillows instead of 1 and, though my arms didn't go numb, I could barely sleep. I've since read other reviews about the beds and the manager's response that they are sealy posturepedic mattresses. I don't care what kind of mattress they are, they are completely uncomfortable and far too hard. I like a firm mattress but this was beyond firm, like sleeping on a slab of concrete or sheet of wood.
Sleeping was made harder by the fact that the heaters in the rooms do not keep the rooms at the temp you set it to. This wasn't just our room either, as they had to move us to another room when the first one they gave us had wet carpets from being cleaned that same day (why would you not keep that room to the last one to give out?) and the heater in that room wasn't keeping the room at the correct temp either. We set the temp for 64 at night hoping it would cool off enough for us to sleep but it never did. We ended up opening the widows despite the snow and freezing temps outside. No matter what you set the temp for it was significantly hotter in the room. We were also on the first floor so our room was not impacted by heat rising from the rooms below us.
I'd also like to mention that giving us a room with completely wet carpets that smelled like a bottle of perfume had been emptied in the room was not OK. Further, when we called to see if we could switch rooms (we had checked in early after all and knew many people hadn't checked in yet) we were told at first that the hotel was full and there was nothing they could do. Only after insisting did they let us talk to someone else who switched our room for us. I really don't understand why you wouldn't make some changes and save that room with the wet carpets for the last room of the night to be given out. That way you could give it some time to dry and not make other guests change rooms. We'd already unpacked our toiletries and clothing and had to pack it all back up to switch rooms. I also had wet socks which would have been a huge problem if I hadn't brought more than what I needed for the 2 days we were there. All in all I don't think we'd stay in this hotel again since there are several other options in town and I'd like to actually be able to sleep when we visit again. less
BestWesternMccall, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mccall Lodge & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Our beds are the premier Sealy Posture Pedic Deluxe Pillow top, they are new beds and I am sorry that you had a hard time sleeping. I am sorry that your room was warm. Our heaters are also the air-conditioners to your room. You could of turned on the cooler air to cool down your room. Next time please call our front desk if you need any help. We have someone at our front desk 24 x 7 to help with anything you need.
We did apologize for your room and we immediately moved you all to another king room right across the hall. I hope you and your family had a wonderful time at Winter Carnival.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 208-634-2230.
Best Western Plus McCall Lodge & Suites