Paying for a room doesn't mean you get one...
01/10/2018 Kelli_Morton, Auburn, IL
We reserved two non smoking rooms (2 adults, 2 children in each) in April for the SIUC family weekend. We fully paid for one of them with the money coming out of our account immediately. We cancelle... more
We reserved two non smoking rooms (2 adults, 2 children in each) in April for the SIUC family weekend. We fully paid for one of them with the money coming out of our account immediately. We cancelled one room on Wednesday but kept the paid for room. We were unable to come on Friday but I knew the room had been paid for so I didn't worry. We called Saturday morning around 930 am to verify we would still be coming Saturday night and were assured our room was still reserved.
We checked in at 6:00 pm and given room 121. We went to the room and found it was a king size smoking room (are those even legal in Illinois anymore??). We went back to the front desk and he said that we had reserved a king size bed with 2 adults and 2 children. I showed him the reservation. He stated that's all he had and because we hadn't shown up Friday they had rented our room to someone else. I explained that I expected a refund then because it didn't seem legal to get paid twice for the same room. I had no problem paying for the room on Friday night if it saved it but not if they rented it to someone else. He then said that the hotel had canceled the reservation at 4 am as a no show (what if I had came at 5 am since technically the room was paid for until 11 am on Saturday?) He offered a roll away bed but said there were no other rooms.
As I sat making numerous phone calls hoping another hotel had a cancellation I watched Keith check in 2 other couples to double bed rooms and at least one of those he had to run the credit card for. Luckily Super 8 by Wyndam had one room open and graciously accomodated us!
Alas, Keith said that his manager wasn't there or available until Monday (on a weekend with a fully packed hotel??) and he wasn't giving me a refund for either night.
Needless to say we won't be going back. less
Eric J, General Manager at Best Western Marion Hotel, responded to this review
I apologize for the issue encountered. We did hold the double bed room that you had reserved for Friday and Saturday night. You did not show up for the reserved room on Friday so it was rented to another guest on Saturday morning around 5am. We were not notified you would be arriving a day late otherwise we would have held the room for you. When you called Saturday we were able to set you back up with a room for Saturday night but we did not have the room type available that you had booked since you were a no show. I apologize that we did not have that room type available to reactivate the reservation for. This could have been averted had you informed us of your change of arrival. Since you did not stay Saturday we will provide a refund for that night. In the future please be sure to contact hotel in advance to ensure this does not happen again.