Spa not working facilities
23/11/2015 simonrainbow, Lichfield, United Kingdom
We checked into this Hotel for one night as we were meeting friends that live near Alton Towers. The reason we booked this hotel was only due to it's leisure facilities we asked the receptionist to ar... more
We checked into this Hotel for one night as we were meeting friends that live near Alton Towers. The reason we booked this hotel was only due to it's leisure facilities we asked the receptionist to arrange a taxi for us so we could both enjoy the break we don't get away very much. We checked in went to the bar ordered food drinks and everything was going very well we then went back to the room to get our swimming things asked at reception for towels for the pool we still wasn't told that the leisure facilities weren't working. Got undressed got into the pool then wanted to so into the steam room which wasn't working at no time were we told that it wasn't working. I was so upset that I hadn't been told they weren't working I would have never got into the pool in the first place and wouldn't have stayed as it cost us £88 for the room we were then paying £70 in taxi fares to meet friends all because of the facilities. I complained to the manager and said that we wanted to check out and get a bed and breakfast for £50 as this was all we were in fact getting. He agreed to refund our room rate but said that we had to pay for the food etc. which I didn't have a problem with . I never ever complain or write reviews on here but feel really upset about not been told. Even as I was checking out another customer checked in for the leisure facilities and still wasn't told they weren't working. Obviously I know they can't be held responsible for breakages but would have been so much happier if I was informed. less
BWMH, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ms Wragg,
Further to your complaint. I feel the hotel acted more than reasonably in its dealings with you.
I would like to clarify that the steam room to which you refer in your comments, is actually a sauna (we don't have a steam room) was broken for 2 days (awaiting parts) but is now fixed.
At the time, because the swimming pool was fully operational and unaffected, we didn't feel it was necessary to contact guests to advise them, before arrival, as you suggested. No other guests staying this weekend, mentioned the lack of this facility had affected their stay.
Because you were so unhappy and even though you had booked on a Best Western Winter Promotion Non-refundable rate,we still arranged a refund.I'm not sure in the circumstances what more we could do for you.