This place is a JOKE
This place is a joke I don’t recommend anybody staying here I was here with my family on a business trip with my husband as he worked right here in San Diego and I would book rooms for four days at a ... more
This place is a joke I don’t recommend anybody staying here I was here with my family on a business trip with my husband as he worked right here in San Diego and I would book rooms for four days at a time so before checkout I am in my room they come to my room banging on my door telling me that I have to check out and leave somebody has reserved my room and kicked me and my family out on the curb we had to throw all our bags out and be out by certain time (which they gave us 30 minutes )or they said they were going to call the cops on us It was so racist unfair it was a disgrace this place is just awful and the people here they talk to you like crap they’re rude and the manager she doesn’t even care about you or Even kids even kids she just kicked us out Without a care in the world without a care in the world I would not stay here!!!!! These are some pictures I took of how they just kicked us out into the parking lot on the curb ME AND MY KIDS ! AND I HAVE A 3 MONTH YEAR OLD BABY! So from the curb I had to call check into another hotel get an Uber or Rent-A-Car and do all this outside on the street!! less
GMBestWesternLaMesa, General Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review
First and foremost thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
While we understand your frustrations with the unfortunate issue you experienced we were sold out already for the date of your expected departure. We had attempted to contact you several times previously regarding late payment issues throughout your stay, but you had let us know that you had unplugged the in-room phone off the hook and were otherwise unreachable unless a member of our staff came and knocked on your door.
Working in hospitality, we do try to be very understanding of our guests and their needs, however, it is hard for us to anticipate when a guests' final departure date would be if they are not proactively communicating their needs to the hotel to ensure that a room is available to extend day of. In this unfortunate situation we were already sold out by the time you anticipated needing to extend at 9AM the morning of check-out after we had notified you of the hotel's status for that night. We tried to be more than fair in letting you know with enough advance notice that morning and allowed for a later check-out to accommodate your need to transport the 6 full carloads of items and belongings being stored in your guestroom.
Our staff assisted with providing both bell carts and a laundry blue cart to assist in loading your belongings from the room as the total time it took for you to fully be out of the room was about 3 hours + with your final departure around 3PM (which is our normal guest check-in time). We tried to be fair in not charging a half day charge for the extra time it took for you to leave the hotel as well as not charging for a deep cleaning fee for the nail polish damages our Maintenance had to remove from the balcony tiles.
Also, at no point did we state that you needed to sit outside at the curb with your four young children and at one point we even had our Housekeeping Manger walk out to suggest coming inside out of the sun and that you were welcome to sit in our breakfast room while you waited for your husband to return from one of several trips back and forth throughout the afternoon. We of course are understanding of the safety of small children and were very concerned every time you would walk away or left them alone and unattended near the road to pack or move your belongings.
I believe if you take an opportunity to read our other reviews we try to treat all of our guests with compassion, kindness, and respect. I am sorry if your reaction to the situation made you feel that our management treated you otherwise.