Sold down the river
What a shambles. I pad extra for a 'river view' room and instead got a shocking corner room overlooking the car park and a tree. It is deceitful to class this room as anything other than what it is. B... more
What a shambles. I pad extra for a 'river view' room and instead got a shocking corner room overlooking the car park and a tree. It is deceitful to class this room as anything other than what it is. Boutique? No. Views? No.
Most disappointing of all was the absolute lack of interest from staff. On check in when I raised this with reception I was met with nothing more than an 'I know' shrug of the shoulders. On check out I was met with hostility, aggression and confrontation - as well as a refusal to reimburse me for the 'river view' surcharge. Totally infuriating and very puzzling.
As for the rest of the stay, well the rooms were pretty average. I couldn't / wouldn't walk on the carpet barefoot as there seemed to be more beach sand engrained there than on the beach itself - but the best was the slightly eclectic selection of toiletries... Conditioner, shoe polish, shower cap and sanitary bag?? I don't expect much for just shy of $200 but some hand soap would have been nice. Just so I could wash the sand and dirt of my feet before putting my socks back on.
Overall, very poor stay backed up by exceptionally poor customer service and even worse value for money. less
BWHWBoutiqueHotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS HW Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
I was confident your review would be a complete exaggeration of the events that actually took place so please do allow me to clarify on some things:
You booked a river view twin room via Booking.com.
The website states for this room type: “Located on the 2nd level, this room features a balcony offering views over the Hastings River. It includes a work desk and a mini bar. The marble bathroom has a walk-in shower.”
Your room, which was 212 does come equipped with these facilities along with the river view from your private balcony. Unfortunately you have confused these with the ocean view rooms. We are very upfront with our guests to avoid disappointment that the river is to be seen from your balcony and these are not direct water view rooms. The photos of this room type are also very clear on booking.com.
All rooms are provided with complimentary toiletries- Soap has and always will be included.
In regards to the other “eclectic” items (shoe polish and sanitary bag). Shoe polish are popular with our corporate guests and sanitary bags are for female use. What toiletries you choose to use are purely up to the individual.
The carpets had all been recently shampooed and the room you stayed in has been checked and definitely does not have sand in the carpet.
In regards to our staff – your version of events differs greatly to what actually occurred. The lady on check-in did not “shrug her shoulders” and I did not greet you with “hostility and aggression” - When you walked in, chucked the room keys and said “I’d like a refund”, yes I did ask you questions as I was unsure why you were asking for a refund as you had utilised the room.
You jumped to the conclusion deluxe queens were $139 when the rate was $159 and questioned the rate difference. I then proceeded to explain the rate difference is not just about the view upgrade, however also because you had in fact booked a twin room that came with an extra bed, a slightly bigger room layout along with the private balcony and river view.
Deluxe Queen rooms are equipped with 1x queen bed, shared balconies and no view.
The rate difference is not just because of the views.
Whilst I was in the middle of explaining and answering your question – (there is a difference between explanation and confrontation) you proceeded to cut me off accusing I was being misleading and confronting and walked off.
If you had allowed us to finish our conversation, I would have also ensured we had your details for me to pass your comments onto our Operations Manager and if would be have been at her digression as to possibly offer you a partial/upgrade refund.
When you decided you were unhappy with your room, the receptionist would have no doubt looked at a room move or an upgrade with what availability we had at the time. We will always provide options if they are available.
Your behaviour and accusations about your stay are disappointing as we always strive to ensure all our guests receive an extremely high level of customer service as is reflected in 99% of our reviews.