Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center

517 E 1st Street, Long Beach, California, 90802-5025, United States
based on 650 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center

California sun and surf awaits you at our Long Beach hotel, just minutes from the Carnival Cruise dock and the Queen Mary. Catalina Island and CSULB, Cal State Long Beach, are conveniently located near our Long Beach hotel. For business travelers or show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out15:00:00 | 11:00:00
517 E 1st Street, Long Beach, California, 90802-5025, United States

Reviews of Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 650 reviews
Excellent 50%
Very Good 33%
Average 9%
Poor 2%
Terrible 4%
Rating

impalass53, wrote review 06/02/2021

Charged for parking without prior notice

Awesome place to stay with the exception of a $20 parking fee which we were not told about in advance! Would not recommend this facility because of this issue. We stayed in several Best Westerns in ou... more

Owner Response
Shawn Jones, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review
Thank you for giving us feedback regarding our hotel. Our parking fee is $19 per night with unlimited in and out privileges with the parking structure. Parking is a premium here in Long Beach especially since our location is so close to the Convention Center, restaurants, bars, and beaches. There are city parking garages that offer day rates or street parking that have designated time restrictions due to the street meters. Many of these options don't have the convenience of having a vehicle in an underground parking structure. In comparison to many other properties in this area, our parking fee is competitive for the region. Hope this clarifies this fee and shows the value it holds. Parking is a common expense with many hotels that are located in LA, Orange County, SF, San Diego, and many other great cities in Southern California. Stay safe & healthy.
Rating

antwane007, wrote review 23/12/2020

best place to stay and very reasonable rates

very reasonable rates, room decor is exquisite. hotel staff was very professional, courteous and cheerful. Very nice and quite, Ease of access to the downtown long beach area and restaurants. I highl... more

Owner Response
Shawn Jones, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review of our hotel. Our hotel staff will be pleased to hear the nice comment you had about them. Makes our job that much more rewarding when seeing positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed this location and being so close to the beaches, restaurants, and Convention Center. Be safe and healthy!
Rating

dgperez21, wrote review 08/09/2020

Clean and good location

Clean room, great location to the beach and many restaurants. Front desk staff were very helpful and as a Platinum member, made me feel like one. Area is within walking distance to the convention cent... more

Owner Response
Shawn Jones, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review
Dear Dgperez, Thank you for the time to share your experience. I appreciate your understanding during the pandemic and are delighted to see that your experience was pleasant. We try our best here and hope to see you again soon or in better times. Be Safe and Healthy, Shawn Jones General Manager
Rating

689ff, wrote review 15/08/2020

The Most Horrific Experience for my son and I

If I could rate no stars I would. We will NEVER stay at a best western again!!! The name of this establishment should be worst western not best! My son, his grandma and I experienced so much disrespec... more

Owner Response
Shawn Jones, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review
Dear 689ff, I apologize that your stay did not go as many of our previous guests have enjoyed even during this pandemic. We take our guest's feedback seriously and want to ensure we are doing our best to keep our guests safe and feeling comfortable. During check-in, we explain our hotel's policy and COVID policies and it sounds out of character for our desk agents mention to be condescending by any means. We sometimes may have to speak louder as we are wearing masks and have a plastic barrier so this can make it difficult for guests to hear or understand us. With the many challenges that Covid-19 has brought, to protect you and other guests, we have to take measures on ensuring that only hotel guests are inside to limit the potential spread of the virus. Online we do have it listed anywhere you can book our hotel that our amenities may be affected by Covid-19. The State of California as of July closed down many family recreational centers, gyms, pools, salons, and etc. Further, since we want to ensure the safety and health of our guests and to comply with the Department of Health's rules we also have been doing a "grab n go" style breakfast. I followed up to your complaint with the housekeeper. I assure you, we do respect the privacy of our guests. Since there wasn't a Privacy Sign on the door our housekeepers will knock, announce their presence, and if no response, will enter the guest room. Since the room was occupied our housekeeper respectfully departed the room. We have our remotes wrapped in what is called a fresh remote wrap which implies that it has been cleaned. We are glad that our maintenance was able to replace the remote with a working one quicky. In regards again to your family member visiting you were made aware of our No-Visitor policy at check-in. This is told to all guests staying along with other rules we expect all guests to follow for their safety and the safety of others. While we try our best to address and handle noise complaints this situation you describe where you were unable to reach our front desk I understand can be frustrating. We do wish that you did come down to explain the situation as we are more than willing to take care of our guest's needs. Please know that we also do not tolerate demeaning remarks towards our staff. Because of that, we found it to be in the best interest of both parties that you would find other accommodations. Best Regards, Shawn Jones General Manager
Rating

johnhill6360, wrote review 10/03/2020

Long Beach Cali Vacation

Great stay in Long Beach. Many close by activities and great shopping. Beautiful area to ride bicycles and enjoy that great California weather. Long Beach bike share right at hotel so very convenient.... more

Owner Response
Shawn J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review
Dear John, Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you were able to enjoy Long Beach before the shutdowns came. We look forward to being of service to you again when things get back to normal! Stay Healthy, Shawn Jones General Manager