There is a reason it's so cheap - bring earplugs, Clorox wipes, and bug spray.
Disappointing experience overall. This is a decent building, fairly clean and comfortable overall, and the price and proximity to the convention center is good, but it is poorly managed, as evidenced ... more
Disappointing experience overall. This is a decent building, fairly clean and comfortable overall, and the price and proximity to the convention center is good, but it is poorly managed, as evidenced by several items. I stayed three nights during a convention, so I got a pretty good sense of what it's like. There were mostly little things like being informed at check-in that I needed to pay $15 a day to park a car, the pubic hair floating in a smear of goo on the bathroom floor, and the funky smell of my room, along with the incredibly powerful door closers installed on all the room doors that literally rattled the picture frames in my room every tine a neighbor closed their door. But those aren't deal breakers, you expect a little of that in an cheap hotel. The things that pushed me over the top were being woken up at 10 PM on Sunday night after three days of working the event because they decided they needed to re-run my credit card, due to some procedural error on the part of the desk clerk. I was by then sound asleep, and not super happy about getting dressed and going down to the lobby to do that. The last straw was waking up with itchy bug bites on my legs. I don't even want to think about what those might have been - I took my clothing off in my garage when I got home and put everything I was wearing and brought with me straight into the washing machine. And I hope that's the last of that - could just have been fleas if I am lucky.
Most of these were by themselves not so horribly offensive to merit a single star rating, but experienced all together it was pretty bad. I was good and irritated on Monday morning about the credit card fiasco, left a message for the GM to please call me (he didn't), so I called him a few hours later to discuss. He offered a tepid non-apology, saying his staff needs more training, and attempting to justify waking me up by explaining a few times that it was really important that they 'capture the revenue' for my room, but nothing in the way of compensation or good will. It all just speaks to an overall lax attitude about cleanliness, courtesy, professionalism, and regard for guests.
I was surprised at my experience given the ratings here, and perhaps mine is an isolated case, but as in the title, I'd personally suggest that you stay elsewhere. But if you find the price and the location too tempting to resist, maybe bring along earplugs, bug spray and possibly disinfecting or deodorizing products just in case.No fraud at this time. | RMG | User had a first hand experience at the property. less
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and our operation.
After my initial apology I feel it necessary to assure you that we do take our customer satisfaction very seriously. We are not in the top 10 hotels in Long Beach by avoiding negative customer feedback. I can understand that our service team should have done a better job in initiating that late evening call to you. It rightfully should have been handled earlier in the day when you chose to extend your stay after your initial prepaid reservation expired. Again I truly apologize for that and have spoken to our team members on proper procedures.
I would also like to address the other negative experiences that you bring up in your review. Parking fees in downtown locations are normal and I assure you that our content team properly post those charges anywhere and everywhere you can book our hotel. These charges are not driven by profit but by the expense of operating a parking structure in a downtown location where parking is limited or non-existent. Our charges for this are inline with all other hotel operations in downtown.
The door closers albeit noisy are a required safety feature for travelers and do cause noise from time to time when other guest allow them to slam as then enter and exit their guest room.
I am also very sorry to hear that your room was not properly cleaned or deodorized. I will address this with our housekeeping staff. Given the opportunity during your stay prior to your rude awaking we would have most definitely addressed all of your other concerns.
I encourage you to reach out to me should you have anything further and again I sincerely apologies for your negative experience here in our hotel.
Shawn Jones General Manager