Property needs work
01/06/2018 HadleyKatie, Redmond
I've stayed at the BW Plus Heritage in Stockton twice. Both trips were family emergency trips from the PAC NW to So Cal. Last year the room we we're given was dirty and dilapidated, but the card lock ... more
I've stayed at the BW Plus Heritage in Stockton twice. Both trips were family emergency trips from the PAC NW to So Cal. Last year the room we we're given was dirty and dilapidated, but the card lock kept malfunctioning so they put us up in the grand suite which was large and clean. They only charged me $40 plus tax and waived the pet fee.
This year (yesterday) was different. The room was okay, but rundown. The hallway was filthy with carpeting stained by workers tracking in dirt, plaster and paint. The area around the property is seedy, so I made sure my car was parked in the small secured area by the office. When I made the reservation, the clerk tried to charge me $30 per dog despite their written policy stating a $30 per day fee. I insisted they follow their own written policy, which they did, but advised next time I would have to pay $30 per dog. I told her that it wasn't an issue since I wouldn't be staying there again, which the dilapidated condition served to confirm.
The staff is nice and courteous, but they can't make up for the condition of the property. In a pinch this place is okay, otherwise find somewhere else to stay. Unfortunately, Stockton has no nice motels that allow dogs. Sacramento would be a better place even though you have to drive off I-5 into Davis to find something. less
BWStockton, Front Desk Agent at Best Western Plus Heritage Inn, responded to this review
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I'm so sorry to hear both of your trips were family emergencies, I hope that all is well now or that it will be very soon! Unfortunately, our key system has become older and outdated so at times it is harder for the keys to work. However, as a part of our renovation process we will be getting new doors as well as keys! I apologize for the condition that you found our hotel in, we are going through the process of an entire property renovation, we also have new management. I hope that this encourages you to try and stay with us again once the renovations are done. Our pet policy is $30 per animal per day but does not exceed $150 per animal for the duration of the stay, this is Best Westerns updated pet policy. I hope that you will consider staying with us again once we have finished all of these changes. I do apologize again for your stay not exceeding your expectations.
I hope you have an amazing day,