Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn

921 W Winnemucca Boulevard, Winnemucca, Nevada, 89445-3638, United States
based on 796 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn

Stay close to the Winnemucca Casino where the best table games and entertainment in this part of Nevada can be found, just minutes from our Winnemucca hotel.

Pet-friendly hotels in Winnemucca are difficult to come by, but our property welcom
show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out16:00:00 | 12:00:00
921 W Winnemucca Boulevard, Winnemucca, Nevada, 89445-3638, United States

Reviews of Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 796 reviews
Excellent 50%
Very Good 34%
Average 9%
Poor 3%
Terrible 1%
Rating

MVPRK, wrote review 22/02/2021

NOT COVID COMPLIANT

While the room is adequate, nothing makes up for the fact that the receptionist keeps her mask down around her neck while none of the guest in the check-in area/reception area wear masks. (I have pho... more

Owner Response
Lydie Loooker, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our hotel values your feedback and aims to provide our guests with a safe and comfortable stay. While COVID-19 has caused us to make amendments to our hotel’s services and offerings for your safety and wellbeing, our hotel continues to look for ways to improve our guests’ stay. We appreciate you providing insight on what we can do to better meet your needs going forward. Please know that the health and safety of our guests remain paramount, and as such, we were among the first in the industry to roll out standards and best practices to enhance our cleaning protocols at the start of COVID-19. Our hotel prides itself on embracing BWH Hotel Group’s We Care Clean™ initiative, and our trained staff are committed to ensuring the highest cleanliness standards recommended by the Centers for Disease Control. I am sorry that you had an issue with the receptionist not wearing her mask. This is unacceptable even if we have a barrier between her and the guests checking in with the plexiglass and I will definitely address the issue with her. I have seen the picture and will show it to her and explain to her that if she wishes to work with us, she must follow the governor's mandate and best western policy. I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We ask that all guests follow the governor's mandate to wear masks unless they are seated and eating in the lobby. This regulation is the same as in all restaurants and places where food is available. I did recognize the guest that you took a picture of and he is a regular and has asthma which is why he does not wear a mask. We have addressed the issue with him, and as he respectfully pointed out, those that have medical concerns involving breathing issues are not required to wear masks. He is not the only one that uses that excuse and unfortunately we can not ask for proof or make them wear masks unless our governor amends the wording to say all must wear masks no exceptions. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 775-623-6999.
Rating

USN_Seabee_Wife, wrote review 12/02/2021

Skip this hotel due to bed and room temperature

Here for one night as we were traveling through the area. The room is spacious and the bathroom has a split design where one sink is outside of another area that has a toilet, sink and shower. Water p... more

Owner Response
Lydie Loooker, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn, responded to this review
I am so sorry that you were uncomfortable and could not sleep. We do not lock the temperature regulators down, or preset them. The only issue we have with our system, is our heating and cooling system is based on a water system, and when it is winter, we shut the cold water off, and turn the hot water on in order to heat the room. So guests that like a cooler room are not able to turn the air conditioner on. I have no way of changing this system. The rooms can be lowered below the 72 degrees, so I'm not sure why you were not able to set it lower, and our windows due open up to allow cool air to circulate throughout the room. I have passed on all of your comments to the engineering department and asked the head of engineering to check the rooms and see why guests are not able to lower the temperature below 72 degrees. I've asked him to check all of the rooms and see how we can make sure that all of our guests are comfortable not just the ones that like the warmth. Once again, I am sorry that you did not have a cool room. I have also asked that the head housekeeper take a look at all of our beds. If the beds need to be replaced, we will certainly do so.
Rating

Joni K, wrote review 05/02/2021

Really Nice Hotel - Wish I Could've Stayed Longer

+ pet friendly with only minimal charge + s p a c i o u s room, 2 sink areas, plenty of trash cans + nice lobby + great staff + plenty of electrical outlets although no USB ports + very nice breakfa... more

Owner Response
Lydie Loooker, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your insightful comments about our property. Our property has never provided makeup remover towelettes, and I am sorry we were not able to provide you with them. As of March, we are looking into new pillows to offer a different selection and hope that our guests will be happy with our new pillows.
Rating

jjc514, wrote review 18/01/2021

Bad Covid Safety

Staff wasn't wearing masks.Don't stay here if you care about Covid safety. I chose to stay here after reading reviews praising their safety precautions, but that's not what we experienced. Check in ... more

Owner Response
Lydie Loooker, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. I can certainly understand your concern about the lack of proper face mask coverings. I have made an exception for the clerk that wears a clear mask. It protects all of my guests, but does not protect her. She has a medical condition that makes it difficult for her to use a face covering and this was a compromise solution. I have asked that at all times she stays behind our plexiglass barrier to further protect her and the guests. I have also spoken to the clerk that was on the phone without her mask. I explained to her that while I can understand that the guest on the other end of the phone cannot hear her responses, it was important for her safety and others that the mask is worn even with her head down and the plexiglass in front of her.
Rating

Kendra H, wrote review 10/01/2021

Desk Clerk Deserves a Medal!

Winnemucca is our stopover from CA to CO where we have to go to help family. All our concerns about COVID were minimized here. Very clean and lots of precautions. We were taking stuff to our car on th... more

Owner Response
Lydie Loooker, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter. I am passing on your comments to Debbie, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to her. She will be appreciative. It is always gratifying to know when our employees are effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.