Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa

131 Rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec, J8X 3W3, Canada
based on 1031 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa

The Best western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa is the best kept secret in the National Capital region. We are proud to state that we do offer the most breathtaking views - overlooking the Parliament Hill and its library, the Byward Market as well as the Gatin show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out16:00:00 | 11:00:00

Reviews of Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 1031 reviews
Excellent 37%
Very Good 30%
Average 15%
Poor 9%
Terrible 5%
Rating

SBAngus, wrote review 19/03/2020

A very pleasant surprise. Ottawa travellers take note!!

I usually stay in downtown Ottawa, but going forward I will not. I will be staying here. Incredibly Close and 25% of the price of a downtown Ottawa hotel. Great staff very friendly with a good restaur... more

Owner Response
BWPlusGatineauOttawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind comments and you are right, we are the best kept secret in Ottawa, offering breathtaking views of Parliament Hill, Byward market and the Ottawa river, as well as the Gatineau Hills in the back. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thanks again and best regards, Andreas Spove General Manager
Rating

Hanoverian1968, wrote review 14/03/2020

Conveniently-located and offering stunning views of the Ottawa River and Parliament

We returned to this hotel for a weekend outing to Ottawa. The hotel is stone's throw away from the Canadian Museum of History and only a short walk across Alexandra Bridge from the National Gallery. O... more

Owner Response
BWPlusGatineauOttawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions with us and fellow travelers. Our location is indeed very convenient and the views are second to none! We do consider our riverview rooms to offer the best view in the national capital region, overlooking the Parliament buildings, the Ottawa river and the vibrant Byward market - all a short 10-20 minute scenic walk away... We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. In the meantime, we hope that you are staying safe and hope that this terrible corona virus storm will pass soon. Best regards, Andreas Spove General Manager
Rating

FL1984, wrote review 10/03/2020

DESPICABLE&DISAPPOINTING

DESPICABLE & DISAPPOINTING I specifically booked this hotel Strictly because of their claim of a heated SALT-WATER pool, as well as the menu they displayed online. Due to my very restrictive diet, I... more

Owner Response
BWPlusGatineauOttawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review
Dear guest, I am very sorry to read about your experience while staying with us and that a set of coincidental variables made for this unfortunate situation to happen. I would like to address your comments, however, please know that I am not trying to come up with excuses, however, I feel I need to give you and fellow travelers some context on how these issues arose and how we, as a hotel, responded to these claims: Regarding the pool, it was brought to our attention that the salt levels were off and therefor needed to be reduced and adjusted. The only way of doing that while remaining open (given that it was family day and that the hotel was very busy), is to drain the pool and refill with fresh water, which will unfortunately and inevitably lower the temperature of the pool. This procedure was done earlier that day, while we were closed. As we open the pool at 5PM, the reaction from the lifeguard, as it relates to your comment that the water was cold, was genuine as she had not had time to receive the information of what had been done prior to her arrival,. She was under no circumstances questioning your comments, but she was just genuinly surprised the the temperature had dropped. I am sorry that you interpreted her comment that way. Our duty Manager must have been misinformed about the time it would take to heat the pool as it takes more than 15-30 minutes to heat 69,000 litres of water... Our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. As a gesture of goodwill for this inconvenience, we did waive your parking fee... Our restaurant is operated by a third party, thus the duty Manager's comment that it is not operated by the hotel. Regardless, the menu should have been up to date but unfortunately it was not, and we apologize for that inconvenience as well. We try and make up for our shortcomings in an honest manner, however, the presumption that a missing menu item automatcally justifies a free meal is something that we do not support. Here too, we did compensate you for this inconvenience by offering complimentary breakfast for two. The Duty Manager in question did speak with the kitchen, explained the circumstances and they did, in the end, agree to make make a dish, suitable for your restricted diet, as per your request. With regards to your comments regarding the actual booking, our duty Manager informed you that you had made an advance purchase reservation, which is non-refundable and can't be cancelled, which is what he tried to explain to you before you walked away. It should also be said that, as a valued Best Western elite member, we did grant you an upgrade to our Executive floor, in a room with a balcony and a beautiful view overlooking the river and parliament. I do think that calling our property despicable is not fair, eventhough we did fall short on some issues during your stay with us, but as mentioned earlier, we will always try to make up for our shortcomings by trying to solve any and every issue and I maintain that I think we offered fair compensation for the troubles you encountered, however, you failed to mention that in your review, which is also not fair. We do hope that you will reconsider and try us again so that we can have a second chance to offer you a superior experience, as mentioned by many other travelers on this review site. Best regards, Andreas Spove General Manager
Rating

810atulp, wrote review 05/03/2020

Great place to stay

this hotel has never failed me. Always a great stay. Rooms are clean and the service is awesome. Will definitely be back every time i am in the area. Always a great stay. Did not get a chance to chec... more

Owner Response
BWPlusGatineauOttawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions with us and fellow travelers. We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, once again. Best regards, Andreas Spove General Manager
Rating

Voyager45460558540, wrote review 20/02/2020

Great location!

We have stayed here a number of times for Winterlude and have always enjoyed this hotel. Great staff and an excellent location to experience Winterlude. Beautiful view out of our room of the river a... more

Owner Response
BWPlusGatineauOttawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay yet again and we look forward to welcoming you back many more times! Best regards, Andreas Spove General Manager