This place is horrible!
13/08/2017 KRoss6970, Cedar Hill, United States
Unfortunately we had to be in Mansfield for the weekend for a funeral so I searched hotel options. There weren't many, but the Best Western seemed to be the best choice out of the others. When I saw t... more
Unfortunately we had to be in Mansfield for the weekend for a funeral so I searched hotel options. There weren't many, but the Best Western seemed to be the best choice out of the others. When I saw the rooms I wondered what the other hotels must look like if this was the best. The hallways smelled of mildew and so did the rooms. The first room they checked us in had a STRONG order of something. Not sure if it was just mildew but I asked the housekeeper if she could spray it. She did. Unfortunately it didn't help. We tried to lock the room but figured out it wouldn't lock. After 15 mins. the desk sent someone up to look at it. He couldn't fix it. They told my husband to come down for another key. We walked in the 2nd room but it was not ready. Housekeeping had just entered to clean it. We called the desk...they told us to come down for another key. I told them to bring it up. After all, we were the guests and the ones inconvenienced by this. We got to the 3rd room to discover it was worse than the other two and also smelled of mildew or something (see pics) but why complain? I'm sure it wouldn't get any better. Saturday morning a housekeeper entered the room to ask if we needed service. I was shocked to look up from my phone and see her standing there because she didn't knock or identify herself before coming in. I refused service. Breakfast was horrible but I didn't expect it to be good. This place needs a MAJOR renovation. Especially since the rates do not reflect the condition of the property. Apparently there's a water leak in the building. Good luck if you stay here. less
Mayur P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Desoto Inn & Suites, responded to this review
We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience. Due to us being sold out the night before and your request for an early check in, we did not have enough time to check rooms after being cleaned but that is not an excuse. Due to the high humidity in Louisiana we have a condensation problem on the third floor which is being worked on. You were advised about the second room being cleaned at the time because due to rooms still being worked on and check in time is not until 3pm. Our team was trying their best to accommodate your needs in a short period of time. Once again we do apologize for your inconvenience and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.