My friend & I stayed here on a road trip. It was awful. The room layout was terrible. For example, The bathroom sink was on the opposite side of the room door than the access to the toilet & shower room, and the light switch for the toilet/shower room was outside the room and behind the door hinges instead of by the door knob. The shower itself was completely unusable with horrible water pressure resulting in only a trickle of water. The remote control to the TV was not working, although the clerk was able to fix that. Paint was peeling on the walls. In the morning when I woke I discovered a small, dried blood stain on the sheet. After confirming it was not from me, I was horrified to realize they had either put blood stained sheets on the bed or the sheets had not been washed!!!
In general, the hotel had a dark, dingy feel to it and the night clerk was rude and condescending. For example, when he "fixed" the remote, he had to "mansplain" to us how remote controls work - as if 2 adult females could not understand technology. All he did was change the position of the "eye" that receives the infrared signal, which sat loose on the base of the TV instead of being fixed to it.
We did not use the pool or hot tub, but in retrospect that was good as we realized we could not smell the chlorine, even though the pool room was directly behind the front desk. In every other hotel we have stayed at, you can smell the chlorine, even if only faintly. Now I wondered how clean the pool was if you couldn't smell the chlorine.
This was one of the worst hotels we ever stayed at and absolutely not worth a charge in excess of $100!!! Neither of us would stay here again if you paid us!!! less
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Dear Cruiser, I am sorry for the anguish that design limitations of the layout of the light switches has caused you. It is indeed not the best setup and I am sorry for your suffering because of that.
I am glad we were able to fix your remote control so you would have access to our extensive cable offerings.
And lastly our pool doesn't smell like chlorine because it is a salt water pool, a better, more environmental choice that does not come with the strong chlorine smell that you missed.
I am sorry for your impression of your stay with us, but I wish to assure you that we do our best to be hospitable to our guests and work within the limitations of our building design and pool sanitation choice. Have a wonderful day and travel safe please.