Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western PLUS Dean Court Hotel.

Stay right in the shadow of York Minster.

The Best Western PLUS Dean Court Hotel is fortunate enough to count York Minster as its next door neighbour! Just a minute away from York city centre, you'll also be close to the historic sights that this wonderful county capital has to offer.

From the moment you enjoy a warm Yorkshire welcome at check in, you'll enjoy an unforgettable stay. With plenty of highlights from the past, courtesy of the Romans and Vikings, you'll also enjoy contemporary boutique style decor at the hotel itself. Not to mention AA Rosette award-winning cuisine and fine wines when you return from an outing to one (or more) of Yorks countless tourist attractions!

With excellent road and rail links, the Best Western Dean Court Hotel also affords guests the luxury of a convenient location, from which you can take a trip to Leeds, explore North Yorkshires natural beauty and even venture further afield to Newcastle and the Northeast.

View more

Location

Duncombe Place
York
North Yorkshire
YO1 7EF
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6040*
AA

Summary

Complimentary valet parking at hotels secure car park a few moments away. Parking charge £18.50 per day.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is charged parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Stuart Black is a champion of local produce, and he keeps his menus as seasonal as possible. Vegetarian and gluten-free diets are a strong feature in all menus

Chef Stuart Black

dean-court-hotel-dining-01-83119

D.C.H Restaurant

Enjoy contemporary style decor and comfortable seating. With stunning Minster views from several tables, and delicious seasonal food served at all of them, our hotel restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy a little Yorkshire hospitality all day.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 10:00 - 18:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
dean-court-hotel-dining-03-83119

The Court

Offering a smart and relaxed atmosphere that's almost as inviting as the staff who'll serve you, the Best Western PLUS Dean Court serves up a tempting cafe menu, with afternoon tea. Cake from: £2.90

Opening hours

Breakfast: 09:30 - 12:00
Lunch: 09:30 - 22:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

D.C.H Bar

Featuring digital images of the Minster, this inviting bar serves real ale, with beers from York, Yorkshire and around the world! You can also sample cocktails by Berty Audebert, and over 20 wines by the glass!

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Forest Park

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6673 Yards
Handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Stockton on Forest

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £15.00
18 holes £25.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Fulford Gold Club

Course information

Course Type: Heathland and woodland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6900 Yards
No handicap required

Location

6.9 miles away in York

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £35.00

Weddings

Our fantastic location means you can spend your big day in the shadow of York Minster!

dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-07-83119-OPdean-court-hotel-wedding-events-01-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-02-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-04-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-03-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-06-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-09-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-10-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-11-83119dean-court-hotel-wedding-events-12-83119

Wedding service and reception venue

We'll take care of everything and everyone at the Best Western PLUS Dean Court Hotel. Leaving you to enjoy a stress-free special day, at least as far as the reception is concerned!

Catering

Our DCH restaurant offers exceptional views and food to match, with AA Rosette award to its name! We cordially invite you to choose the Best Western PLUS Dean Court Hotel for your reception, and cater for up to 90 guests! If you do, you'll enjoy a large selection of sit-down and buffet menus.

Honeymoon Suite

A stunning room with a stunning view, our honeymoon suite offers four poster bed luxury, overlooking York Minster. With plenty of room for romance, you'll be able to take time out in a sofa-seating area and relax in contemporary style dcor.

Registrar

Registry office:
York Register Office
Bootham, York
01904 654477




A whole host of Complimentary services is available when holding your Wedding Ceremony at the hotel. (Conditions apply)

For any enquiries please call Management on 01904 625082

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type YO1 7EF

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J45, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: York, 0.50 miles
Nearest airport: Leeds/Bradford, 30.00 miles

Address
Duncombe Place
York
North Yorkshire
YO1 7EF
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • York Racecourse. (2 miles)

  • York City FC (0.5 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • York Minster (0.1 miles)

  • National Railway Museum (2 miles)

  • Castle Musem (1 miles)

  • York Dungeons (1 miles)

  • Jorvik Viking Centre (1 miles)

Shopping

  • City Centre (0.1 miles)

  • Minster Quarter (0.5 miles)

  • Designer Outlet (0 miles)

  • Monks Cross (0 miles)

  • Clifton Moor (0 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

dean-court-hotel-meeting-space-02-83119

With two universities, two theatres, international head offices and national institutions in York, we're a dab hand at laying on classy conferences and exceptional events! Free WiFi in all areas

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre

McLeod Suite

Located in the basement this room is perfect for conferences requiring blackout facilities, the room can accommodate up to 50 theatre style and it has air conditioning and free WiFi throughout.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
McLeod Suite 50 12 0 28 40
Ellen Best 12 0 0 12 12
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1210 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 758
Rating: 4 304
Rating: 3 98
Rating: 2 27
Rating: 1 23
Rating

Perfect location for York Minster

08/02/2016 Ian H, Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom

I booked this hotel for a weekend away with my wife. The location is absolutely perfect for all of Yorks central attractions and is literally facing York Minster. There is a valet service for parking ... more

Rating

Superb hotel

03/02/2016 vcrole, Morpeth, United Kingdom

Stayed in the best western plus hotel as part of our mini moon. We booked through booking.com The price was extremely competitive. The room was very nice and clean, fresh towels and tea and coffee dai... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear vcrole Thank you for writing such a pleasant review after your recent stay. Congratulations from all the staff on your wedding and we are really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable mini moon and so happy that you chose the Dean Court Hotel in which to continue to celebrate. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manager
Rating

Perfect location, but pricey parking

03/02/2016 Bertie500, Oxford, United Kingdom

This is a good hotel that could be grand, its in the shadows of the minster and easy walking of everything in town. The restaurant could be excellent, just lacks some life, breakfast was good. Interne... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Bertie500 Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, it seems that you pretty much enjoyed your stay with us albeit there was a few niggles that I will address. The restaurant as you have said could be fantastic and in most days it is, unfortunately there are some quiet days this time of year which can have a small impact on the overall ambience. Now the big one - Parking, for your benefit and for those who are thinking about a possible future stay let me be as clear as I can about parking, I will tell you all what you need to know and from there you can decide what you think. Parking is priced at £18.50 per night at our hotel, this is one of the cheaper hotel parking facilities in the city and our car park is located in a secure off site car park, our porters will take your car and bring this back round for you whenever you wish although we do ask that you inform us in advance as it normally takes us around 10 minutes. We also have an electric car charging station within our private car park. We offer to our customers the opportunity to park with us on the day of their arrival long before check in and keep the car with us long after check out. For example check in is at 2pm If you arrive at the hotel at 8am in the morning we will store your luggage and park your car straight away. The following day checkout is at 11am and similarly we will store your luggage and car until say 8pm this would give you 36 hours parking for the £18.50 you have been charged. I encourage you to compare parking prices and terms with other city centre hotels that valet park their guests cars. If customers do not wish to park with us we will advise of the nearest car parks to us and the train station is approximately a 10 minute walk and there are frequent lines of taxi's stationed there. One thing I must stress is that there is NOT free parking outside of the hotel between 6pm and 8am. the only time that there is free parking outside of the hotel is from midnight on a Saturday night until 11am on Sunday morning and then from 6pm until midnight on a Sunday. Blue badge holders can have free parking for three hours and must display their badge.. For further information regarding car parking in York I would advise viewing the York council website or contacting them directly. Any of our receptionists or porters would be happy to answer any questions you may have regarding transport issues. If you are to come to York again then do consider staying at the Dean Court Hotel and feel free to contact us directly and we will offer some alternatives to help with travel arrangements. Kind regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manager
Rating

AWESOME!

01/02/2016 NottinghamSwellen, Nottingham

Chose this hotel as we wanted something a little bit special and also close to the minster - we were certainly not disappointed! We walked from York railway station and it only took us 10-15 minutes. ... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear NottinghamSwellen Many thanks for leaving a review after your recent stay We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time in York and that our hotel and our room amenities were to your liking. Our location is perfect for exploring York and our comfortable deluxe rooms offer luxury for those special occasions. Thank you for choosing the Dean Court Hotel and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manager
Rating

Disgraceful way to treat a customer. Never again.

31/01/2016 DianaBertoldi, Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom

One of the worst night of my life. I was given a room that it is unsuitable for accommodation. Although in my booking I had specifically asked, for health reasons, for an upper floor room where I coul... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Diana I am disappointed to read such a negative review and one which is in total contrast to all other reviews. I have looked over your reservation and spoken with all staff who were involved at the various times you have referred to. I can see your request on your original booking which read exactly as follows "for health reason I need to sleep with the window open therefore I would like a room not at ground floor" we do not have any bedrooms on the ground floor and therefore you were allocated a room on the first floor and this matched the room type which you booked. Where I am disappointed is that after you made your feelings clear to our staff that they did not provide a solution in which you were happy with the outcome such as a room move and for this I will apologise, regarding the staff members that did not deal with your concerns upon checkout I have spoken with them and they certainly did not intend to appear as insincere as you have described and if this was your interpretation of your check out experience then I am sorry. Our breakfast that morning raised no other issues with our guests likewise the appearance of our staff was not called into question by any other guest so I do find your comments unusual in the sense that you were the only one that found your breakfast of a poor standard and felt that a certain staff member was not presented properly. Your comments have been seen by most of my staff, certainly the ones in which you referred to and needless to say they are upset with your comments. collectively we apologise for any offence that we have caused but I stand by my staff in the great service in which they deliver as many of the previous comments will testify. Regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manager