Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel


Stay right in the shadow of York Minster.

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel is fortunate enough to count York Minster as its next door neighbour! Just a minute away from York city centre, you'll also be close to the historic sights that this wonderful county capital has to offer.

From the moment you enjoy a warm Yorkshire welcome at check in, you'll enjoy an unforgettable stay. With plenty of highlights from the past, courtesy of the Romans and Vikings, you'll also enjoy contemporary boutique style decor at the hotel itself. Not to mention AA Rosette award-winning cuisine and fine wines when you return from an outing to one (or more) of Yorks countless tourist attractions!

With excellent road and rail links, the BEST WESTERN Dean Court Hotel also affords guests the luxury of a convenient location, from which you can take a trip to Leeds, explore North Yorkshires natural beauty and even venture further afield to Newcastle and the Northeast.

View more


Duncombe Place
North Yorkshire


Complimentary valet parking at hotels secure car park a few moments away. Parking charge £18.50 per day.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is charged parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Stuart Black is a champion of local produce, and he keeps his menus as seasonal as possible. Vegetarian and gluten-free diets are a strong feature in all menus

Chef Stuart Black


D.C.H Restaurant

Enjoy contemporary style decor and comfortable seating. With stunning Minster views from several tables, and delicious seasonal food served at all of them, our hotel restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy a little Yorkshire hospitality all day.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 10:00 - 18:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

The Court

Offering a smart and relaxed atmosphere that's almost as inviting as the staff who'll serve you, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court serves up a tempting cafe menu, with afternoon tea. Cake from: £2.90

Opening hours

Breakfast: 09:30 - 12:00
Lunch: 09:30 - 22:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

D.C.H Bar

Featuring digital images of the Minster, this inviting bar serves real ale, with beers from York, Yorkshire and around the world! You can also sample cocktails by Berty Audebert, and over 20 wines by the glass!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Forest Park

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6673 Yards
Handicap required


5.00 miles away in Stockton on Forest


Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £15.00
18 holes £25.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Fulford Gold Club

Course information

Course Type: Heathland and woodland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6900 Yards
No handicap required


6.9 miles away in York


9 holes Yes
18 holes £35.00


Our fantastic location means you can spend your big day in the shadow of York Minster!


Wedding service and reception venue

We'll take care of everything and everyone at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel. Leaving you to enjoy a stress-free special day, at least as far as the reception is concerned!


Our DCH restaurant offers exceptional views and food to match, with AA Rosette award to its name! We cordially invite you to choose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel for your reception, and cater for up to 90 guests! If you do, you'll enjoy a large selection of sit-down and buffet menus.

Honeymoon Suite

A stunning room with a stunning view, our honeymoon suite offers four poster bed luxury, overlooking York Minster. With plenty of room for romance, you'll be able to take time out in a sofa-seating area and relax in contemporary style dcor.


Registry office:
York Register Office
Bootham, York
01904 654477

A whole host of Complimentary services is available when holding your Wedding Ceremony at the hotel. (Conditions apply)

For any enquiries please call Management on 01904 625082

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type YO1 7EF

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J45, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: York, 0.50 miles
Nearest airport: Leeds/Bradford, 30.00 miles

Duncombe Place
North Yorkshire

What's nearby?


  • York Racecourse. (2 miles)

  • York City FC (0.5 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • York Minster (0.1 miles)

  • National Railway Museum (2 miles)

  • Castle Musem (1 miles)

  • York Dungeons (1 miles)

  • Jorvik Viking Centre (1 miles)


  • City Centre (0.1 miles)

  • Minster Quarter (0.5 miles)

  • Designer Outlet (0 miles)

  • Monks Cross (0 miles)

  • Clifton Moor (0 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events


With two universities, two theatres, international head offices and national institutions in York, we're a dab hand at laying on classy conferences and exceptional events! Free WiFi in all areas

Available room set ups


McLeod Suite

Located in the basement this room is perfect for conferences requiring blackout facilities, the room can accommodate up to 50 theatre style and it has air conditioning and free WiFi throughout.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
McLeod Suite 50 12 0 28 40
Ellen Best 12 0 0 12 12
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1156 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 727
Rating: 4 292
Rating: 3 94
Rating: 2 23
Rating: 1 20

Lovely but very expensive

22/11/2015 Andy_and_Daniel2010, Guernsey, United Kingdom

If you want York City centre this has to be a wise choice, overlooking the Minster, everything on the door step, wide choices of rooms, very attentive staff, very clean throughout, however at £300 per... more


Slightly disappointed...

18/11/2015 VinylRevival, Scunthorpe, United Kingdom

I'm afraid to say our recent stay was marred by a catalogue of instances which, having stayed on previous occasions, we found to be disappointing. On arrival, when shown to our room, which was booked ... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Vinyl revival Thank you for reviewing your recent stay I do appreciate you bringing the matters to my attention as previous guests of ours who have enjoyed their stay I do hope that this has not had too much of a negative effect I will try and explain some of the things which you have mentioned. I am happy to hear that when you first raised the issue of your dissatisfaction of your room size you were promptly moved, the room in which you moved too was a standard double and complies with all the necessary criteria to qualify this as a standard double, we often have guests requesting this room so I was surprised to hear that the second room was not to your satisfaction however I will be inspecting this room with my housekeeping manager to ensure that all aspects of this room are what they should be, this room however should have come with two robes and the temperature of the room should be adequate for the guests staying. I can only presume this was the case as this room was not supposed to be in use that night, hopefully the management team on that night were quick to resolve these issues. I have looked over our CCTV on your second night where you returned to the hotel and the door was locked. The door is locked as precautionary measure for the safety of our guests and our night staff and because of our central location we encourage our night porters to ask to see the room cards when guests are returning. I am however disappointed that you had to wait for 5 minutes which is too long from when you first rang the bell and for this I apologise. Our doors are not normally locked this early and there were unusual circumstances involved as to why this was but again waiting for 5 minutes in the entrance is too long so to you and the other couples I apologise. The wait for breakfast the following day I cannot explain, sometimes all of our guests come down at the same time which causes delays and this is the most probable cause of your waiting time although the length of time in which you waited still seems too long to me. Although there were positive elements to your stay I feel we have failed you on some counts, we constantly offer a great service in every department but there are certainly two issues you have raised which could and should have been avoided and all I can do is hold my hand up and apologise. Our service levels here are what keep our guests coming back and I hope you believe me when I say that this is a rare occurrence. If you do wish to discuss this further then I invite you to contact the hotel and address any questions to myself. Kind regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manger

Great hotel

16/11/2015 turtlesnap, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Stayed at the best western Friday to Sunday lovely hotel great location staff very friendly and helpful. Car parked for me on the Friday never seen it again till Sunday it is chargeable however it's v... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Turtlesnap Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay. It is great to hear that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable. I would always advise our customers to leave their cars with us if they don't need them purely due to the traffic around York at certain times because of our central location most of our guests find that they do not need their cars that much and you have the peace of mind that your cars are in a safe secure park. Like yourself we think our car parking offers value. Our friendly and helpful staff look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manager

weekend break

09/11/2015 graham e, Colchester, United Kingdom

A real pleasure to stay ion a well run central hotel in York. Excellent staff very attentive and helpful at all times. Food in restaurant very good and well presented. We hope to stay again as the sit... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Graham E Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay. Our chef and his team will be happy to hear that you enjoyed our various food offerings. Likewise your kind comments about our staff have been well received. Thank you for choosing the Dean Court and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manager


06/11/2015 ,

We have just returned home from a two night stay at this truly superb hotel. We have stayed in so many hotels over the years and I can honestly say this is in our top 3! From the moment we arrived to ... more

Owner Response
DeanCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Many thanks for your wonderful comments, the passion in which you have described your stay is particularly nice to read, we pride ourselves on customer service here and love it when people feel the benefit of this. the clean, tidy rooms with great amenities means that you can really relax in your room or let the staff look after you in our bar, cafe or restaurant. Our location is ideal for exploring and its great to hear that you found this to be the case too. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards Steve Bailey Deputy General Manager