22/02/2019 MagnoliaForest, Newberg, Oregon
We aren’t picky with hotels or leave bad reviews. I feel the need to warn anyone with a family who is considering this hotel. The first night we were there, we got a phone call that another guest repo... more
We aren’t picky with hotels or leave bad reviews. I feel the need to warn anyone with a family who is considering this hotel. The first night we were there, we got a phone call that another guest reported us for being too loud. We were talking at a normal tone getting the kids in bed. I was very surprised! We were not being loud. The next night, a bit after 7pm after spending 10 hours at Temple Square we got another noise complaint. This time I started crying because we couldn’t even unwind and talk. I had to keep my kids from talking. As my husband and I were laying in bed speaking about how terrible it was there and how sad and unwelcome we felt, (slightly above a whisper volume) we got a 3rd noise complaint. We were being next to silent! I cried more. The next morning we checked out 2 days early, which was a huge hassle. Also, the website did not mention that the indoor pool would be closed. The pull-out sofa had no bedding or pillows in the room and when we went down to get more there was no way for them to give us pillows. The rooms in the 300’s and 400’s have no elevator, which really sucked. But most of all, we felt incredibly humiliating and unwelcome. We are regular travelers and this was hands down the worst hotel experience of both my husband and my own lives. Devestatingly horrible. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean, but in the end it didn’t matter. less
Erik G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn, responded to this review
We're sorry you had a rough evening. We got noise complaints from three separate guests, and informing guests is something that we try to handle as professionally as we can. If we don't get it resolved, we get similar feedback from others about how difficult their stay was. We want everyone to be happy and comfortable, and the only solution we could think of was to offer to move you to the main floor where the noise would no longer be an issue (since the 3 complaints originated in rooms below you). Since the offer was declined, we weren't left with a lot of options. I wish we could have had a better solution that would satisfy your family and all our guests.
The renovation on the pool is being completed soon, and we have listed it on all the sites we could. Unfortunately, not all sites have the information as prevalent as we would like to. As an extra measure we made sure to have a sign at the desk letting all guests know we own a neighboring hotel and are happy to bring them to the pool upon request via our shuttle. Again, not as nice as having our pool open...but we have made every effort to provide good services while making necessary updates to our hotel.
It should be wrapping up soon, and we hope that in the future you'll consider coming to enjoy the updates. We'll be glad to accommodate you with a great location in the hotel where you don't have to worry about floor noise, and the pool will be open for your family 24 hours.