Sooooo very disappointing. Nice staff, though.
06.03.2019 tiffanijacks, Tampa, Florida
I note as I'm writing this review that this hotel is rated no. 1 on TripAdvisor. So....maybe I was just given the worst room at the hotel...? I don't know. I expected too much because I read glowing r... more
I note as I'm writing this review that this hotel is rated no. 1 on TripAdvisor. So....maybe I was just given the worst room at the hotel...? I don't know. I expected too much because I read glowing reviews here - I'm sad I didn't have that type experience. 1st - pros: staff is responsive/concerned when you're concerned from housekeeping to the front desk staff (maintenance man did appear a number of times, but did not offer many solutions), room on 1st appearance presented okay - 3 to 3.5***; air con once on is nicely cool, wifi works ok 90% of the time, bedding was clean, uber from airport to hotel was only $3.50 USD (approximately). Cons: I was placed on the 1st floor. As others have noted, there is no ac in the halls - it's oppressive/the air is stifling. Shower water smelled horrible (hot or cold) - while water from the sink smelled okay, small roaches 1-4 noted each night in the bathroom (I was scared/refused to keep my toothbrush and toothpaste out), ac gushed water onto the floor, bottled water in room didn't have a sealed cap - cap was wrapped in plastic, though, fridge didn't cool on any setting I placed it on - kept roaches away from my food, though - plus? I didn't enjoy the breakfast - ate there one out of three opportunities. I did like the coffee, though. The room initially smelled wet/moldy/dank - it was overwhelming and lasted a full 24 hrs with the air on at full blast. It smelled "wet" after that, but to a much lesser extent. After turning on the ac and the ceiling fan, I noticed a collection of dust both on the floor and strewn across the bedding.
Note - I travel/have traveled to several countries on each continent. I AM very picky (don't do hostels, etc) and I am a germaphobe. I expect a lot from hotels I choose. I am from Florida, though - so have seen a roach or two in a hot tropical type climate (never in a hotel, however) - I gave the hotel a pass on nights one and two and hated that I had to. This was honestly one of the worst experiences I've ever had at a hotel. I'm more upset because these are things most of the staff couldn't fix. I mentioned bugs to the maintenance man who came to my room to check on my ac several times without actually fixing anything. He acted as if the bugs weren't his problem - maybe they weren't.....?? This hotel needs a major overall - roaches night after night in the bathroom - what in the world?! Get it together!!!
Final thing - attached restaurant was convenient and staff there were kind and responsive as well. The food is just okay. It is however too expensive for just okay food - think Western prices. To be honest. I've had much better Indian food anywhere and everywhere I've traveled and had just had an amazing meal at an Indian restaurant in Rwanda the day before I arrived in Dar - also priced high, but oh so worth it!
If other hotels are worse, skip Dar if possible! Seriously! Zanzibar/Stonetown has amazing old hotels - stay there instead. Zanzibar/Stonetown is only a 20 minute cheap flight away. less
Roderick_Bernal, Owner at Best Western CBD Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your straightforward feedback of your recent stay at CDB Hotel here in Dar es Salaam.
Your review is valuable to us as my entire Team strives very hard to improve guests experience each and every stay.
I'm truly sorry to read your experience but be assured that it's not the kind that we would like to offer you. I am happy to learn that you have returned last night, and hope you had a better experience this time around. We are looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel whenever you visit Dar Es Salaam. Karibu sana!