Lovely hotel - refurbished rooms still need tweaking
12/07/2017 Farmer668, Carmarthen, United Kingdom
We stayed as part of a walking holiday. Ramsau is a centre for this and the hotel is a great oasis. It was 28degrees when we stayed and the pool was a welcome and refreshing way to cool down after a ... more
We stayed as part of a walking holiday. Ramsau is a centre for this and the hotel is a great oasis. It was 28degrees when we stayed and the pool was a welcome and refreshing way to cool down after a long hike (yes, I did shower first). We stayed in a newly refurbished block and the rooms are beautiful. One or two teethign problems, though:
1/ the Tablet (IPAD) that provided information on all facilities in the hotel was not working --an IT issue. Though we reported this it had not been dealt with by the time we left.
2/ There was no fridge/mini bar as the ones fitted in the refurb were the wrong size,
I am not a mini-bar person, but when it's 20 degrees at night you do miss somewhere you can cool down your bottled water.
The buffet style meal at night was more than adequate with lots of choice, but there is a la carte of you want it. As hikers who were walking 25k per day, we had absolutely no complaints and the courtesy lunch buffet and cakes were a big temptation. But the hotel does need to get it's IT issues sorted and the fridges fitted to avoid niggles. Like others here, I think that if it was privately owned as opposed to a Best Western, these issues may well have been sorted earlier. IMHO. less
Franz L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your feedback. We were glad you enjoyed your stay.
I am very sorry that you did not have a minibar during your stay. To avoid any inconvenience, you should have been informed that there is no minibar in this room due to renovation issues and that you may order your drinks/snacks at our room service instead. I am really sorry, if this did not happend. The minibar is already back in the room.
Regarding the tablets, there was a big IT problem all over the area Berchtesgadener Land. That was no problem of the hotel itself. A big fibre cable were cut through and there was no internet or telephone available. In some areas there was no TV and radio as well. It took a couple of days until everything was fixed again. So everything is in order by now.