Excellent location, but that is it
08/01/2017 LiviaDrusilla11, Houston, Texas
I chose this hotel for the location and I wasn't disappointment. The staff is really nice and friendly, they have parking on site and a pool (never used it, but I believe that it's heated). The view f... more
I chose this hotel for the location and I wasn't disappointment. The staff is really nice and friendly, they have parking on site and a pool (never used it, but I believe that it's heated). The view from the breakfast area is beautiful, ocean, people out on their walk and hanging out, California life-style in front of your eyes.
The hotel is very old and it looks, smells and feels like it. It is clean, but it really needs an upgrade. From the main street it looks new and beautiful, but don't be fooled! The bed is absolutely impossible to sleep on. The pillows are unbelievably uncomfortable no matter how you turn them. We didn't have a single good night sleep while we were there.
Breakfast is probably one of the worst I ever had while traveling. They had breakfast sandwiches from fast food restaurants. There was no protein source other than the sandwiches and a fat free yogurt. I left hungry and never returned. They were very proud of their new waffle or pancake machine. I don't eat those, so didn't help in any way.
Overall, if you are on a budget, travel with your kids (saw plenty of families with kids), don't have any dietary restrictions, and are not picky about what you eat and where you sleep, then yes, this hotel could work. Otherwise, skip it. Sorry to say this, because everyone was really great and I have no complains about that, but a hotel where you can't sleep it kind of misses it's purpose. less
Angela W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I’m pleased to hear that you and had such positive encounters with our remarkable staff and that you were able to take advantage of our incredible beachside location.
I am concerned to learn that you feel our rooms are outdated. We recently completed the renovation of all of our guest rooms, including the replacement of everything from carpet and furniture to paint, linens and the bathrooms.
Although you didn't enjoy our breakfast, the continental buffet that includes freshly baked pastries, fresh fruit, pancake machine, a rotating variety of hot items and other goodies, it is one of our most positively mentioned services.
I apologize that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations but I am grateful for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel to reach our goal of being the best. I hope that you consider offering us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.