The ad said pool and Cafe. It had neither operating and only a bar which was closed on Sunday. We stayed at this hotel because the weather was going to be HOT (42degrees) and we went to see my son and... more
The ad said pool and Cafe. It had neither operating and only a bar which was closed on Sunday. We stayed at this hotel because the weather was going to be HOT (42degrees) and we went to see my son and 3 year old granddaughter. Upon check in I asked about pool and they said closed due to Covid. Note that most hotel pools are open as well as public pools. When we checked out we made a complaint. There were four staff members at front desk and they all engaged in an argument with us. ZZERO customer service and ZERO apologies. They said they were not responsible for third party websites such as trip advisor, Expedia, and hotel.com. We paid top dollar for this this place and got bargain basement everything. No housekeeping, no breakfast, no pool, I called front desk to ask about food and no answer. Twice. My granddaughter was so upset about not having a pool and it literally ruined our stay because it was too hot to do anything else we are completely familiar with Covid but these people including the General Manager made business decisions and used Covid as an excuse. Rather than taking our complaint he even interrupted and said my partner wasn’t listening. He needs lessons in how to Deescalate a complaint because we left madder than when we checked out. Will avoid Best Western at all costs. less
Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. At check-in the situation with the pool and the Cafe were explained to you and you seemed to understand the situation. We gave you options for swimming in the area nd mentioned the water park a couple of blocks away. I am sorry that our pool and Cafe aren't open and we are working towards that goal as we told you. Bringing all of these issues up again, all of which you were made aware of on arrival, at check-out after you had stayed for multiple days doesn't help the situation. I am sorry for your experience with us.