Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia, V9Y 7X8, Canada
based on 658 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

When searching for the perfect Port Alberni hotel, theres no reason to look any further than these unbeatable accommodations. Lodging in Port Alberni can be tough. You deserve both a wonderful price and stellar accommodations. Get the best of both wo show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out16:00:00 | 12:00:00
4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia, V9Y 7X8, Canada

Reviews of Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 658 reviews
Excellent 50%
Very Good 36%
Average 8%
Poor 2%
Terrible 2%
Rating

shawn b, wrote review 18/07/2021

Not impressed

Too expensive for Port Alberni and no microwave in the room with no restaurant open. Unfriendly staff, small room. We were there for a hockey camp and will be going to Port Alberni for the next 5 or m... more

Rating

396danag, wrote review 13/07/2021

Treated badly

My friends were treated badly from the owner Peter. He was rude.wanted to fight one of them. One of our friends ( which owns a restaurant arrived on his bike from tofino with a hurt neck. They all h... more

Owner Response
Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 396danag: I am sorry that you felt you were mistreated in any way during your stay. We do take exception when guests go out of their way to berate our front desk staff and totally ignore our policies regarding wearing masks in the hotel. The policy was explained to you on arrival and you all chose to ignore it. We have guests who ride all sorts of motorcycles stay with us throughout the spring, summer and fall months and they are respectful and welcome guests in the hotel. We are one of the host hotels for our Port Alberni Toy Run which brings in motorcyclists from all over British Columbia and they have a wonderful time staying at our hotel. You and your friends behaved poorly from the beginning and were told that your actions were not acceptable. The fact that you are millionaires does not excuse rude behavior to the staff in the hotel. .This is not tolerated from anyone, millionaires or not. I was surprised that you left your injured friend to find his own way to the hotel as opposed to having someone stay with him to make sure he was safe and well. Sincerely. John Quackenbush, General Manager
Rating

Outoftheboonies2, wrote review 13/07/2021

thank you

Owner, operator of this hotel, Peter went over and beyond assisting and accommodating us during our stay. We are grateful for the service we received during our recent stay. We recommend this hotel in... more

Owner Response
Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Outoftheboonies2: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We appreciate the comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, John Quackenbush, General Manager.
Rating

moronica, wrote review 01/07/2021

Never AGAIN

The ad said pool and Cafe. It had neither operating and only a bar which was closed on Sunday. We stayed at this hotel because the weather was going to be HOT (42degrees) and we went to see my son and... more

Owner Response
Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Moronica: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. At check-in the situation with the pool and the Cafe were explained to you and you seemed to understand the situation. We gave you options for swimming in the area nd mentioned the water park a couple of blocks away. I am sorry that our pool and Cafe aren't open and we are working towards that goal as we told you. Bringing all of these issues up again, all of which you were made aware of on arrival, at check-out after you had stayed for multiple days doesn't help the situation. I am sorry for your experience with us. Thank you, John Quackenbush General Manager
Rating

Bttnbythetrvlbug, wrote review 28/05/2021

Stay here

Hotel was nice and clean and bedding was comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Most amenities closed due to covid, but this is the hotel I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Port Alberni. I... more

Owner Response
Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Bttnbythetrvlbug: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind words and we are working towards opening all of our amenities in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, John Quackenbush General Manager