At least I didn't catch Giardia.....
31/10/2018 Kristine F,
I have to travel a lot for business and conferences throughout the year so I am used to the normal hotel experience and usually do not have problems with a few room issues here and there. This stay wa... more
I have to travel a lot for business and conferences throughout the year so I am used to the normal hotel experience and usually do not have problems with a few room issues here and there. This stay was a different story however. I checked into the hotel for a work conference around 9pm. The guy at the front desk was nice but failed to mention anything about the boil water notice that Austin was currently under. Nor were there any signs posted that would have been within reasonable viewing distance for a guest checking in, or walking up to their room. I went up to my room without knowing there was an issue and of course used the water from the tap in my room to drink, brush my teeth, shower, etc. There was no where near enough signs to let me know there was a problem and not to use the water. The one sign they had posted was at the far end of the downstairs counter, not easily noticed when someone from out of town is checking in at night. They should have either put signs in all of the rooms over the sink, or have the staff tell people checking in that there was a water problem. Not to mention the room was small and loud, but that I can usually understand. As for breakfast, it was mediocre at best. There was only orange juice due to the water shortage which of course ran out immediately. The hotel definitely should have prepared for this and at least offered to provide bottled water or previously boiled water for guests to drink. They did not offer bottled water of course and did not refill the orange juice. I will not stay here again and will honestly probably not stay at another best western again due to this experience. Most of this could have been avoided with simply letting me know upon check in that there was a water problem and offering bottled water. less
jonnyrh, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin Central, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback of the Best Western PLUS Austin Central, Kristine. We are sorry to see that you were not happy during your time with us for your work conference.
At the time of your stay Austin was under a Boil Order for our water. We placed signs throughout the hotel, promptly letting our guests know of the situation at hand. Our staff were also instructed to inform our guests. We are sorry that you did not feel as if you were properly informed.
Please feel free to contact me directly, John Kueker General Manager at firstname.lastname@example.org or at (512) 454-1144, so that we can discuss your stay. I look forward to speaking with you.