Poor customer service
I have been a very regular guest at this hotel over the past 2 years when attending meetings in Newcastle. I booked and paid for a room for 2 nights in March. One week before my arrival I was advised ... more
I have been a very regular guest at this hotel over the past 2 years when attending meetings in Newcastle. I booked and paid for a room for 2 nights in March. One week before my arrival I was advised that my meeting in Newcastle had been shifted to May due to the Coronavirus outbreak. I asked the hotel staff to shift the booking to May. The hotel staff were totally unhelpful and refused my request. Such poor customer service in these circumstances shown to a loyal customer. Time to find another hotel. less
Richard C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review
Dear valued guest,
I acknowledge that you have been staying with us for some time and, as such, a special negotiated rate was agreed with you. That negotiated rate allows you full flexibility and, even when our rate goes up because of high demand in Newcastle, your agreed rate remains constant.
However, on numerous occasions you have elected to ignore our agreement, and rather make a booking, at our hotel, on 3rd party on-line sites, with very strict cancellation policies, in order to save a few dollars.
About two weeks ago, our front office recalls that you phoned a few times to cancel your booking because your plans had changed. We noted that you had booked on a 3rd party on-line site. There was no mention of Covid-19.
As per standard procedure, my staff told you that all guests, that book through a 3rd party site, are obliged to contact that site directly to make changes to their booking.
A negotiated rate is there to assist our regular guests, and is intended to work both ways. When our rate is high, on a particular night, we honour the lower rate agreed on. However, if the rate is lower than the negotiated rate (which seldom happens) the guest is obliged to pay the negotiated rate. You have taken full advantage of that agreement when it suited you. However, you have also broken the agreement more times than we can recall.
We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service. Almost every review of our property praises our professional and hard-working team We reiterate that we followed standard procedure on this occasion.
We do not deserve your poor review, particularly at this terribly difficult, and stressful, time for the hospitality sector. We, respectfully, ask you to retract your insulting, unjustified and unnecessary comments.