Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

290 Pacific Highway, Charlestown, 2290, Australia
based on 1061 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

The Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel is conveniently located on the Pacific Highway only ten minutes south of the Newcastle Central Business District in the retail, commercial and medical services hub of Newcastle, in the suburb of Charle show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out14:00:00 | 10:00:00

Reviews of Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 1061 reviews
Excellent 52%
Very Good 35%
Average 8%
Poor 2%
Terrible 1%
Rating

maevans1969, wrote review 07/04/2020

Tranquil and Relaxing

Have stayed here a few times and have always had an excellent experience. Staff are friendly and welcoming and always happy to answer any questions whether it's about the hotel or amenities in the lo... more

Rating

Kasspper, wrote review 02/04/2020

Average experience

Stayed here on the way to Sydney, service was okay, rooms are set in a maze or corridors, restaurant has very limited menu at ridiculous prices. To park in the car park is a night mare as you have to ... more

Owner Response
Richard C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review
Dear valued guest We pride ourselves on the quality of our accommodation and our service. We have an extensive car park, not to mention that we also have an undercover car park below the new wing of the hotel. As you will know, parking is free of charge. With reference to your review, it is clear that you stayed with us prior to the eruption of Covid-19. We are sorry that you did not particularly enjoy your stay. Our restaurant, Babbingtons, is extremely well regarded, as is evidenced by the reviews that we receive, and we believe that the menu is extensive and well priced. Our hotel is a non-smoking establishment. However, as mentioned, we have allocated a small area for smokers, which is away from our guest accommodation. When a semblance of normality returns, we would hope that you will give us another go, and I assure you that we shall make every effort to make your stay special and memorable. Kind regards Richard Christie
Rating

DLE1234567, wrote review 19/03/2020

Poor customer service

I have been a very regular guest at this hotel over the past 2 years when attending meetings in Newcastle. I booked and paid for a room for 2 nights in March. One week before my arrival I was advised ... more

Owner Response
Richard C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review
Dear valued guest, I acknowledge that you have been staying with us for some time and, as such, a special negotiated rate was agreed with you. That negotiated rate allows you full flexibility and, even when our rate goes up because of high demand in Newcastle, your agreed rate remains constant. However, on numerous occasions you have elected to ignore our agreement, and rather make a booking, at our hotel, on 3rd party on-line sites, with very strict cancellation policies, in order to save a few dollars. About two weeks ago, our front office recalls that you phoned a few times to cancel your booking because your plans had changed. We noted that you had booked on a 3rd party on-line site. There was no mention of Covid-19. As per standard procedure, my staff told you that all guests, that book through a 3rd party site, are obliged to contact that site directly to make changes to their booking. A negotiated rate is there to assist our regular guests, and is intended to work both ways. When our rate is high, on a particular night, we honour the lower rate agreed on. However, if the rate is lower than the negotiated rate (which seldom happens) the guest is obliged to pay the negotiated rate. You have taken full advantage of that agreement when it suited you. However, you have also broken the agreement more times than we can recall. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service. Almost every review of our property praises our professional and hard-working team We reiterate that we followed standard procedure on this occasion. We do not deserve your poor review, particularly at this terribly difficult, and stressful, time for the hospitality sector. We, respectfully, ask you to retract your insulting, unjustified and unnecessary comments. Kind regards Richard Christie
Rating

DocBud, wrote review 17/03/2020

Very comfortable stay

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Although on a main road, the rooms have a balcony overlooking bushland which is peaceful and pleasant place to sit as the sun goes down. You are offered low fa... more

Rating

Phillip8789, wrote review 16/03/2020

Well-Maintained, More Than Adequate Accommodation

Whilst the down-grade of our room was not provided, our room was very tidy, clean and spacious. Check-in was slow. However, reception staff were polite and professional. The hotel is extensive, with... more

Owner Response
Richard C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is, of course, located within minutes of the two major shopping malls in Newcastle, is 7 minutes to the beaches and another 5 minutes to the CBD. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.