Hotel overbooked — book Christiania instead.
So we arrived at the Best Western Plus (more like Minus) after a horrible day of a cancelled Glacier Express from St Moritz due to avalanche and then running to catch trains from Zurich and Visp to finally make it to Zermatt by 6 p.m. only to be told by Sarai at reception that “there was a problem with a room” so we couldn’t stay. I booked this hotel over a month ago after obviously not careful enough research. She then sent us to another hotel without so much as an apology or explanation, but clearly they had overbooked, as others on here have said they tend to do.
No manager apology, nothing. Now, if this was an innocent mistake, which is assuming a lot, I would at the very least expect some kind of voucher — money off dinner somewhere, something. Not even a “we’re sorry.” Sarai acted as if she was offering us a service when in fact she was telling us we couldn’t stay where we had booked and been confirmed with a reservation.
I expected a lot better of Best Western but clearly in Switzerland, that was a mistake.
And to the management, please don’t reply with a “thanks for staying with us, glad you enjoyed our hotel” response without even reading this, as I’ve seen you do to others who were shunted elsewhere.
To anyone considering this hotel, go to the Christiania Mountain Spa instead! This is where we were sent — and the one good thing Best Western did. This hotel is a thousand times nicer, particularly as the receptionists are so friendly and welcoming and helpful, unlike at the Best Western.
Also, after we arrived at our new hotel, I messaged Sarai to ask if she could at least book us dinner at the Best Western and she ignored my message. So. There’s that, too.
Go to the Christiania! The pool is huge, the hotel is massive, the breakfast and bar fabulous, the facilities top-notch, and it’s much closer to town. Don’t waste your time on the Best Western who might decide you’re the ones to lose the overbooking lottery. less
Reto_Aufdenblatten, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Alpen Resort Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
First of all I would like to say that I read and write a unique answer for each review here. Due to the avalanche some of our guests’ couldn’t catch their flight and were forced to prolong their stay. Unfortunately this messed with the room planning which is why we didn’t have a room left for you. If, for whatever reason, we are not able to accommodate you, we will organise a room at a more expensive hotel for you. I understand that this can be frustrating especially after a long trip. I am also sorry if our receptionist didn’t handle it very well. But I hope you understand that his was simply an organizational mistake and the entire Hotel shouldn’t be condemned for it.
Reto Aufdenblatten, Guest relations