AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!
04/07/2018 JohhnyWalker, Austin, Texas
I have previously been a fan of several of the best western lodging facilities, but I was aghast by the way the hotel management (particularly Holly and Rose) at the 2 Ruidoso locations treats its emp... more
I have previously been a fan of several of the best western lodging facilities, but I was aghast by the way the hotel management (particularly Holly and Rose) at the 2 Ruidoso locations treats its employees. I have personally witnessed several of the summertime foreign college students be lied to, insulted and humiliated, deprived of lunch breaks while working 8-11+ hour shifts, and then same management sought vengeance on the Ruidoso locals who have tried to intercede on behalf of these young adults. Apparently, this is the status quo at this facility, as there were similar complaints lodged by other foreign college students last summer.
If you choose to patronize these two facilities, please be aware of the management team that you are effectively supporting. For me, this is the last hotel I would ever recommend to any friends or enemies of mine. Should offer the option of zero stars! less
Holly B, General Manager at Best Western Pine Springs Inn, responded to this review
Being that you haven't stayed with us, I find this review hard to believe. We have not lied to, insulted or humiliated any of our staff. I can guarantee that choosing to do so would chase away the staff that I have had working for me for 10+ years. If you are going to make false accusations, please make sure you have documentation to verify it. Such as the memo's posted regarding lunches and breaks, the daily reminders on their housekeeping sheets, and time cards that show our students rarely work more then 8 hours in one day. If they do work over 8 hours in one day, we make sure they have an easy list the next day. If their security or care was a concern, the host company would have already relocated the students.
The "ruidoso locals" who have tried to "intercede" on behalf of the students is the one landlord (from california) who is trying to isolate the girls for whatever reason. The same person who wrote this review and has harrassed both management and the hotel because we took our students out of an uncomfortable situation.
Our students last year were actually quite happy with their season. Most we stay in touch with and some have come back for this season. Also, if there were similar complaints lodged last year, we wouldn't have been relisted as a sponsor with their host company this year.
While I understand you were unhappy about being asked to leave their house last night, there are much more professional manners to handle the situation rather then trying to lie on the internet about how the students are being treated and make the hotels look bad.
Being that management has already made it clear that you are not allowed on property, due to previous behavior, we wish you the best of luck.