BEDBUGS IN ROOM 220!!!
17/08/2019 Hilary S,
I stopped here totally exhausted after a demanding motorcycle ride across the Rockies in terrible weather. Went to bed but found about 6 bedbugs inside the pillowcase. Called the front desk, and the m... more
I stopped here totally exhausted after a demanding motorcycle ride across the Rockies in terrible weather. Went to bed but found about 6 bedbugs inside the pillowcase. Called the front desk, and the manager came and found even more bedbugs. She insisted they had NEVER had bedbugs in the hotel before and I must have brought them with me. (She said maybe they were in my hair!) Given that I arrived with basically the clothes on my back after riding across the Rockies in a brutal rainstorm *and* had been for a swim in the hotel pool, this is totally ridiculous. The night guy did admit they'd had previous problems, however, so the manager out and out lied.
It's now after 4 a.m., I've had no sleep, and somehow I have to get back on my bike and ride safely several hundred more kilometers to get home, where I will have to either track down somewhere to clean my helmet, riding gear, and boots (about $1500 worth, plus another $500 or so for my motorcycle hard bags) or trash all of it so my house doesn't get infected. I am absolutely furious.
Travellers, especially motorcyclists, beware! Do NOT stay here! less
61039BW, General Manager at Best Western Of Olds, responded to this review
I apologize that you had a negative experience while staying at our hotel. I can assure you that we take allegations of this nature incredibly seriously and ensure that in the event there are any issues they are immediately resolved. When you informed the front desk that you had an issue with your room, we immediately switched your room so that the room you were originally in could be inspected by our specialized contractors. We immediately contacted our team who completed a total inspection of the room that you were staying in, along with all nearby rooms to identify any issues. Upon completing their inspection, our team concluded there were no findings of bedbugs in the hotel. I can assure you that Alberta Health Services also completes regular inspections at our property and we have always passed each inspection. We are unsure of who the other guest was that you spoke with, however I can once again assure you that a thorough inspection was completed and bedbugs were not found in your room or any nearby rooms. In addition, we complete a check of each room every time it is cleaned after a guest checks out. This allows us to immediately identify and address any potential issues. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and I apologize that you did not experience the high quality standards our hotel is known to provide.
Mike Johnson, General Manager