Clean, Comfortable and Convenient! (Beware Added Fees)
25/02/2018 Treadora, Gadsden, Alabama
We travel to Nantahala and Bryson City a lot. Before they built the new casino, there wasn't much here and the only reason we use to stop in Murphy on our way up was because it had the only Walmart ar... more
We travel to Nantahala and Bryson City a lot. Before they built the new casino, there wasn't much here and the only reason we use to stop in Murphy on our way up was because it had the only Walmart around for miles. We decided to stay in Murphy this weekend and I'm so glad we did! We had a pet-stay room (only smoking room available) but you would have never know it was used for smokers OR pets! Our room (#125) was super clean and very fresh smelling. It wasn't masked with air freshener or any of that mess, just nice and clean! The bed really was comfortable. No spots or stains on the walls or floors... just clean! I feel like I can't say that enough. The bathroom had great water pressure and no visible water marks or mold. The staff members we interacted with were all super helpful and nice. If you're planning a casino trip, then I definitely suggest staying here. Walmart is just across the road. Harrah's Valley River is down the road about 5 minutes (if that). If you want to drive to Harrah's Cherokee, it's only about 45 minutes away. We'll be coming back to this Best Western, that I can promise you. Does it compare with staying at the casino itself? Of course not, but for what this hotel is, it's definitely worth a 5-star rating in my book. Also, it's not even been 24 hours since we checked out and they've already released the deposit hold on my card... that's unheard of these days. Definitely staying here again!!
Now, my negative thoughts... We were charged an extra fee for the pet room, even though we had no pets. They called after we made the reservations to confirm we wanted a pet room and I explained we needed a smoking room and was told the only smoking rooms they had were pet rooms (maybe thats all that was left, I don't know) and there would be an extra $10 fee. Since I was using Reward Points for our stay, I chalked it up to "resort fees" you'd usually pay at some places. I'm not unhappy that I had to pay the fee, but I am irritated that is was forced upon me when we weren't travelling with our dogs. I think it would be better business practice to fill the room with any paying customer (even if it IS with Reward Points) rather than chance not filling the room for the night. Besides, if that particular room is already designated as a pet room, why isn't that reflected in the price for that room to begin with, especially if you're going to force the fee it on the guests anyhow? It either is or isn't a pet room all the time, so that price should be what is shown and not something extra. Maybe that's my bigger issue with this situation. I'll still visit this hotel again... but I'll still complain if they do this again. less
Aurelia S, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review
We appreciate all the nice things you have said about us. We do try very hard to clean all of our rooms the way we would want to have them if we checked into one. I do listen to feedback and will take into consideration your comments about the pet fee.
We look forward to your next trip to Murphy.