Worst place we have ever been no one to meet guests on arrival no wedding planning went on holiday the day before our wedding cleaning vacuuming stairs bride had to wait for her to finish no organisat... more
Worst place we have ever been no one to meet guests on arrival no wedding planning went on holiday the day before our wedding cleaning vacuuming stairs bride had to wait for her to finish no organisation at all guests didn’t know where to go bar staff where charging different prices for the same drinks range from £9 to £12.40 and the food was disgusting the two small roast potatoes where rock hard skin and cold and raw I need a chainsaw to cut the chicken one teaspoon of gravy on the top the starter was pate it looked like dog poo and the cheesecake was laughable it was a bland blob of cream the manager reply was you must have a bad palette well so must all my 50 guests then we payed £55 a head it wasn’t worth £3 a head my wife sister had money taken from her purse in her room the manager refunded it the is well over priced the service was crap waiters were very rude to some of my guests wouldn’t let the sweet cart lady set up even though they had arranged for her to come at that time where told we couldn’t have bridal suite as someone else’s was in there Evan though we had paid for it in our package it was a total shambles for a lot of money I would recommend you avoid this place like the plague less
OakshotelBurnley, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am extremely saddened and disappointed at what you have wrote. To ensure that any future guests get both sides of the story, I will robustly defend the hotel as your words are at best harsh and at worst offensive.
The sweet lady was two hours later than you had planned, and we were about to start the speeches when she did, so the team were right to make her aware of this, so that no interruptions would take place during the speeches.
The loss of £10 from a room with no involvement from any of the team, was totally without prejudice that I, the manager of the hotel, gave £10 back to her as a goodwill gesture to ensure everyone remained happy.
The vacuuming of the main stairs is a daily task, and the Bride did not have to wait because of the team member, but because we had some late arriving wedding guests for the civil ceremony, and the registrar had to use the toilet prior to the ceremony.
Bar price charging, I cannot comment on specifically here, but generally, variances in prices will most likely be as a result of glass sizes for wines, and different beer orders. We are not in the business of over charging guests, and the accusation is strongly rebuffed.
You had the honeymoon suite and was merely an allocation issue, which I resolved quite quickly and to your satisfaction, and I apologised in person to you for this, and I do again once again on this forum.
The food is very subjective to the individual, and you have had three visits with us including your wedding, and you disliked the food every time. Despite requesting a meeting with you in advance of your wedding to discuss what options we could consider to deliver the food that meets your expectations, you failed to acknowledge my request. I personally tasted all dishes, which includes the different choices for each course, and I was more than satisfied with what the Head Chef was about to serve. The Head Chef produced extra portions so that we could quality control the food on the day.
On two occasions on the day, you said directly to me, that "you have pulled this out of the bag" and then to read your review just really upsets me as a professional hotelier who went above and beyond to deliver an exceptional day for you both, especially given your issues regarding the food prior to the wedding.
Your feedback whilst negative is appreciated, and I wish you both the very best on your new adventures as husband and wife.