Poor customer service
05/02/2017 Melanie M, St. George, United States
I made a registration online with this facility. When I first entered the date, February 3rd to the 4th (Friday to Saturday), I didn't realize that there was another Best Western north of this locatio... more
I made a registration online with this facility. When I first entered the date, February 3rd to the 4th (Friday to Saturday), I didn't realize that there was another Best Western north of this location. I went to look at the address in comparison to where I needed to be early Saturday morning. I realized the Mountain View location was closer, so I went back to them to place my reservation.
I failed to re-check the dates and booked it for the 2nd-3rd, however, I didn't catch the mistake, until I called them on the 3rd to let them know my daughter would be checking in for me earlier in the day, as I wouldn't get there until after 9pm. That's when I was informed that it had booked for the wrong day and they charged me the full cost of the room ($110) as a no-show fee. I asked if they could help e out (I still needed a room for the 3rd) and what could they do for me. He offered to let me have the room at the same cost as the night before, for an additional $110.00. He mentioned the new rate was $127 plus tax. I asked if he could apply the no-show fee toward the next night, or at least a portion of it. He refused and proceeded to remind me that it was my error that caused the problem, not them. I knew this already, but I also know that they have the power and authority to offer good customer service, regardless of who made the mistake. I told him I would pay the regular rate of $127.00 if he would apply some of the fee, he still refused.
I called the corporate offices to seek some additional help. He refused them as well and wouldn't offer anything. The person I was speaking with at the Mountain View location was Sam Patel, the General Manager. He was rude and nasty and had no people skills at all.
I have been staying at Best Western facilities for the past 7 years, in many locations, including Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, California and Utah and I have never run into any issues.
I confirmed with the corporate office that each location has the authority to refund or apply credit for a customer. Sam simply refused to help.
I will never stay at this location. I have shared this with all my co-workers, who also travel frequently. I hope that Sam learns what good customer service is, and the power of word of mouth.
Thanks for nothing Sam! less
Sam P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn, responded to this review
Your frustrations are understandable but again the hotel and its staff did not make the booking error. We hold ourselves accountable when we do so and we expect the same of everyone else. We did offer to have some of the charges used as credits to the point where the rates would be the same on the actual night of your stay which would have saved you almost $45. You received two email confirmations which you could have referred to in order to verify your dates and booking info but did not. Also, you did receive 5000 points from corporate after filing a complaint with them and so were compensated in some way. Passing the word on your experience with us is fine by us, but please make sure you do so honestly and truthfully and with some accountability for your error.