Great for young people wanting to party
02/11/2018 Pijoalda, Helsinki, Finland
Great staff. Beds comfortable and clean. The area could though be challenging for some people. It's very multicultural and lively, as mentioned by some travellers. However, we did not experience any a... more
Great staff. Beds comfortable and clean. The area could though be challenging for some people. It's very multicultural and lively, as mentioned by some travellers. However, we did not experience any annoyances or crime - only really nice and helpful people on Barbés. Anyone who is open minded and tolerant will find the area convenient thanks to the connections.Our quadruple room was quiet and well isolated so we slept well. Small issues with room floor cleanliness and bathroom odours. Could be helped with making it possible to open the window and wiping the nice wooden floor regularly. I believe the ventilation doesn't work well which should be checked up. We were able to open an emergency exit door out (directly in the room) to ventilate so not so big issue, but openable window would be easier. I was missing a minibar/fridge as with kids it gets expensive to eat out all the time. Had some issues with the heating in bathroom but received compensation for that in our hotel bill and I guess it's been fixed by now already. Bring slippers and you'll be fine I would say as the floor indeed is wooden and quite cold. The rate was affordable anyway for a family and still really close to city centre, some 3-4km walk only over Sacre Coeur and Montmartre - which is a really nice area. There's a Carre four market next door which has very good and affordable sortiment. Bakery some 100m away.To avoid: Rue de la Chapelle Indigo parking, and that street in general - trafficking of you name it ongoing on that street and rough sleeper blocked entrance to the garage around noon (!). Street parking on side streets close to hotel is probably better. On Barbés you cannot park as all spots are marked "livraison" - delivery. But it's possible to stop and unload car in front of the hotel with some Parisien savoir vivre attitude.In general our experience was nice and we rested well and enjoyed our walks around Montmartre. less
direction66, Assistant de direction at Best Western Hotel The Playce by HappyCulture, responded to this review
Good morning Pijoalda,
First of all, thank you so much for your review.
I am pleased to learn that you appreciate your stay with us. About the few issues that you faced, please accept our sincere apologies. Indeed, we had a few little problems with the familiale suites, but we fixed everything (or we are fixing some of them actually).
I hope the few issues that you met do not prevent you to enjoy your stay in Paris.
We hope to be able to welcome during your next stay in Paris.