After finding this place, checking in and walking around, we were pleased and excited to stay here for 5 nights. Wonderful staff, a grocery shop next door, what seemed like a clean room with a lovely ... more
After finding this place, checking in and walking around, we were pleased and excited to stay here for 5 nights. Wonderful staff, a grocery shop next door, what seemed like a clean room with a lovely view. Until.... we started itching.
We slept well the first night, but woke up with bite marks on our back, feet & chest. We just dismissed it and assumed we had mosquito or spider bites.
That night around 1:00am, after a very long day of sight seeing, we were in bed and saw something crawling on the sheets. It was a bed bug. We looked it up online and confirmed it was a bed bug. My husband went downstairs and told the receptionist, who told him the hotel was full and we could not transfer to another room. We had to show him a photo of the bed bug online, and because he would not go up to the room himself to look at the bed, we put several bed bugs we found in a cup and brought them down to him. While my husband was downstairs trying to get another room or transfer to another hotel, I pulled up the sheets and saw black smear marks all over the mattress, indicating bed bug infestation. I also picked up the mattress and found multiple dead bugs under the bed, and live bugs under the mattress. (see photos attached)
We googled bed bugs and showed the receptionist what they were, he then agreed to put us in another room. The other room was small, and not like the first room, but we understood the hotel was booked and were happy to be out of the bug infested room. We called priceline (who we booked with) to try to get transferred to another hotel. We felt itchy and gross and wanted to get out of that hotel but we had no where to go, by this time it was 3:00am. The next morning, the lovely receptionist moved us to 601, a room similar in size to the room we had.
When we got into 601, while unpacking, I was looking for a receipt in a plastic laundry bag from our previous room and saw a bed bug. The bed bug had crawled into that bag and followed us to 601!!
I immediately showed the receptionist that checked us in the bug. It was at that point that she told us the upsetting news. The room we were in, room 503, they knew had bed bugs. The hotel had an exterminator come out just over the weekend and were specifically told not to put guests in that room for two weeks. Yet, we were put in the room just 2 days later, filled with gas fumes and placed on the EXACT same beds that were sprayed for bed bugs. This is why there were so many dead bed bugs and some that were very much alive. They did not change the mattress, nor did they bother to clean up all the dead bugs under the bed.
I emailed a complaint to the manager, we still haven’t heard back, nearly 5 days later. Im certain people are still in that room.
Do not stay here. The lack of effort and care in cleaning up bed bugs makes me think the entire hotel may be infected. less
direction66, Directeur général at The Playce Hotel, responded to this review
First of all, please et me apologize again. It was a succession of bad experiences and we are really sorry about that.
The hotel has been fully renovated less than 2 months ago and it's not infested. We welcome guest from all around the world and it can happens that they bring bugs with them.
We immediately solved the problem as soon as you warned us. The communication we had with the technician was that we were able to sell again the room within two days after his intervention, not two weeks.
But again, I'm very sorry for the misunderstanding. I agree that we never should have relocated you in the same room.
The problem is solved now, we have treated once again the room and changed all the bedding.
Once again, I apologize in the name of all the team, this bad experience is not we want to our guest to remember. .
Marie Helene Le Maréchal