It was all going so well, such a shame
25/09/2016 S60cuf, Southampton, United Kingdom
My wife and I booked here for one of our various trips whilst checking out the revamped shopping centre in Milton Keynes (for the record it's looking good, mind you it should for a cost of 10 million)... more
My wife and I booked here for one of our various trips whilst checking out the revamped shopping centre in Milton Keynes (for the record it's looking good, mind you it should for a cost of 10 million), so back to this hotel.
We arrived around 1700 on a Saturday, the actual hotel car park is very small so there space was not available but attached to the hotel is a Hungry Horse pub will ample parking you are allowed to use so that was OK.
The reception is located around the side of the building, we were met by a young lad who was polite and friendly a gave us our WiFi door key card and explained the free breakfast options and where are room was.
The corridors to the rooms were tidy with cheerful coloured paintings along the entire route to our room, the room was a standard twin and was again tidy and to a acceptable standard, bathroom was small with a tiny bath but ok for what you would need for a short stay.
I was unable to get the TV to work but did not contact reception as we didn't really need to have it on, this morning the seat on the toilet has come off which we will note with them when we leave, so all in all a tidy room with nice comfy beds.
As I said the hotel is joined by a interconnected door to the pub, we went here for our evening meal, it was very busy, in part due to a football match being displayed. But we found a seat and the meal was nice and very good value.
So here is where the whole experience was let down, and it would have been so easy to sort on install, you get ready for a nice comfy sleep but all you can hear until 2am gone in the morning is loud banging of the room doors, these doors on all the rooms have no silent closing mechanisms like you would see in a Premier Inn for example , like most hotels they have a function room so it's not unreasonable to expect late night arrivals in rooms.
Unfortunately I would have rated this hotel much higher if not for this one very annoying reason, COME ON BEST WESTERN , "LET'S HAVE A GOOD NIGHT SLEEP" GUARANTEED, like other chains.
Sleep POOR less
broughton69, Reception at BEST WESTERN Milton Keynes Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us , we are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us, we are surprised that the TV didn't work, I will trace your reservation and room number and get this looked at without delay. We apologise about the disturbed sleep due to the locking mechanism of the doors. This is something beyond our control as all room doors must adhere to strict fire and safety regulations, however we will take your concerns to BW. Again thank you for your review , all comments are very important to us and we truly hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying with us again .