1. The room looked just like the pictures and I had no specific issue with it.
2. Location is on the north end of the beach where the horses are kept for on the beach riding. Generally it's a nice, quiet area. A little far for walking to restaurants, but if you want seclusion, fine.
3. Overall hotel-
I got treated like a second class citizen for booking through hotels.com. The "balcony" on the room is a joke. Basically it's a back door into a blackberry patch. I didn't feel particularly secure with the locking on it. It's also a little weird that there were numerous exterior doors, but everyone had to re-enter through the lobby, but they didn't check for ID/room key. I walked by the front desk several times on day 1 since I was walking my dog. Every single time the reception person was on the phone.
The breakfast was a choice of banana, apple, cereal, and some yogurt. As someone who has stayed in this chain multiple times, I was really looking forward to having eggs for breakfast. They did have two hot food options you could specifically request- pancakes and sandwiches. The sandwich was a frozen sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit in individual serving shrink wrap.
The pool and sauna are closed, but they were clear about that at the time of booking.
So, why 1 star? I woke up COVERED in hives at 2 am. I don't know what they wash their sheets in, but I am clearly really allergic to it. I went down to the front desk at 4:30 am, returned from my walk just before 6, and came back again when breakfast opened at 7 to try and get some help. The first three times, there was no one at the desk and a sign that said "helping someone back soon". At 7 am, the gentleman at the desk said I needed to talk to the people coming on shift in order to get service. I left to finish packing out my room and came back to cancel the balance of my trip. They refused to refund me (saying I had to go through hotels.com). They acted like I was being unreasonable when I asked for the pet fee back for the night I wasn't staying.
Overall, I thought the service here was abysmal, and obviously given the fact that I literally broke out from the sheets, I will not stay here again. less
Suzanne F, General Manager at Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn, responded to this review
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay! We are a little limited in staffing right now but we do have staffing here. We are sorry you also feel like you were discriminated against because you booked with Hotels.com? Although it is true we cannot refund or do anything with their bookings (it is an agreement with Best Western and Expedia - their mother company), I did have our Front Desk Agent refund your pet fee since we do take payment here for that part of your reservation. We are offering our Grab & Go breakfast currently and do not offer our full breakfast buffet at this time for the welfare of ALL of our guests and staff. We are keeping in line with some of the properties here in Ocean Shores by our COVID polices and do stand behind them. Not all properties are following as strictly as some of us do. We are sorry to hear you won't stay here again.