Looks can be deceiving
24/04/2016 Olivia8181, Lymington, United Kingdom
From the outside I was nicely surprised at the hotel, it looked quite impressive. There wasn't really enough parking (due to a function) so ended up parking in the middle of the car park which was acc... more
From the outside I was nicely surprised at the hotel, it looked quite impressive. There wasn't really enough parking (due to a function) so ended up parking in the middle of the car park which was acceptable apparently. The reception was modern and the girl who welcomed us was friendly and helpful - at this point I was feeling optimistic.
Up the spiral staircase we went, found our room and oh no, disappointed straight away. I don't mind a smallish room but when the decor is dated it just really dampens your spirit.
We tried the "bar" - again helpful staff but there was no atmosphere it felt more like a library or doctors surgery waiting room!
Back to the room, the bed was small and for my boyfriend, uncomfortable. The pillows were hard and high. Then we get to the bathroom - only one towel for two people!! And the shower had no pressure - at one stage I thought it had turned off it was so soft.
However whilst there were quite a few negatives I can't fault the staff or the breakfast which was delicious. Unfortunately that's just not enough to make me want to return. less
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Olivia 8181
Thank you for your recent review.
I am sorry to read that you were a little disappointed with your overnight stay at Leigh Park last weekend. I am however, delighted to hear your very kind comments relating to the staff, and pleased you enjoyed the Wiltshire breakfast.
The room you occupied was a standard double room with a standard size 4ft 6in bed which was what you booked from a choice given on line. We are continually refurbishing the Hotel but are always conscious not to destroy the Georgian era which was when this beautiful house was built. The lounge bar, which is intimate and cosy opens into the Garden Room with the sumptuous settees overlooking the South facing lawns and the Wiltshire Downs beyond is also a popular room to relax and unwind.
I apologise if the Housekeeper inadvertently only left you one towel – that is certainly not how it should have been – every guest has two towels each and I can only apologise for this human error. I am also getting the shower pressure checked by our maintenance engineer, so thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Perhaps you would like to return in the future and I would suggest one of our more spacious deluxe rooms offering a king size bed and many other extra facilities.
I do hope to see you in the future.