27/11/2016 gepff p, Chelmsford, United Kingdom
We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years and slowly it has gone down hill. It is in a lovely position and is a lovely building. We asked for a room overlooking the field at the ... more
We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years and slowly it has gone down hill. It is in a lovely position and is a lovely building. We asked for a room overlooking the field at the back and ended up with a room at the front overlooking the car park and was told that all the other rooms were taken at the back.The hotel had very few guests. We were offered another room on the ground floor which looked as if it hadnt been make up from the last guest,the reception staff were not concerned and told me we had a nice room. The evening meal was poor, quality not quantity springs to mind,the restaurant staff were great and making the best of the poor food. The hotel needs a lot of TLC it all looked a bit tired. WE will not be going back less
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review
Dear gepff p,
It was lovely to welcome you back again after three years but I am disappointed to read your comments. When you called to make your reservation, we noted all your specific requirements on the system which detailed to us exactly where the room that you wanted was located, i.e. up the main stairway and then over to the left-hand side – which was the deluxe room that was allocated to you. Unfortunately, after checking in you realised this should have been the room on the ‘right-hand side’, but we were unable to move you as it was already occupied, as were the other two rooms on that landing, with the same views. Having expressed your disappointment, I would however, like to thank you for later apologising to my Receptionist for your unpleasant manner.
I am concerned with regards to your comments in relation to your evening meal. We purchase all fresh meats from a local organic farm, which are delivered daily, and all fresh local vegetables are prepared and cooked to order in our kitchens. We do get excellent feedback in relation to our food, so I am very sorry if we did not live up to your expectations. I am only sorry you did your bring your disappointment to our attention at the time.
I am sorry you feel the Hotel needs a lot of TLC – this is an elegant Georgian country house hotel, which is Grade II listed, with a wealth of history on the doorstep, and we continually upgrade and refurbish to high levels, offering all modern facilities, without destroying the grandeur of this bygone age.
I do hope perhaps we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Leigh Park again in the future.